The International Simutrans Forum

Development => Bug Reports => Known bugs and features => Topic started by: Mishasama on August 13, 2020, 06:42:38 PM

Title: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: Mishasama on August 13, 2020, 06:42:38 PM
It seems it will cut off something too high. Make it looks weird.
Title: Re: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: prissi on August 14, 2020, 01:49:18 PM
This is the intended behavior. All levels of non-citybuildings higher than 1 will be left off.
Title: Re: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: Freahk on August 16, 2020, 12:49:37 AM
How can that be intended o.O
It is clearly not a city building, so i would not expect "hide city buildings" to cut that industry... and it looks extremely ugly and buggy.

So is this really intended or just a sideffect of something and hard to fix?
In the former case, I'd really like to understand why this is intended.
Title: Re: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: Mishasama on August 16, 2020, 06:08:27 AM
How can that be intended o.O
It is clearly not a city building, so i would not expect "hide city buildings" to cut that industry... and it looks extremely ugly and buggy.

So is this really intended or just a sideffect of something and hard to fix?
In the former case, I'd really like to understand why this is intended.
Maybe for lower the graphic memory used. :P
But this is not what we expected. I just want to find the factories easily. ???
Title: Re: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: Ters on August 16, 2020, 09:21:54 AM
The purpose of hiding buildings, at least the way I use it, is to build things, and find things, that are behind buildings.

Cutting factories and attractions on the first level of hiding, makes it possible for me to recognize them, while still being reasonably able to see to build a station, or just roads, behind them.

The second level of hiding, is probably more for looking at the flow of vehicles, and interacting with them, rather than construction. Therefore, more things can be made truly hidden. Often I wish for a way to make stations invisible to.

So the first level of hiding hides more than stated, while the second hides less. Writing an exact description of what gets hidden, would probably take too much space.
Title: Re: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: Mishasama on August 16, 2020, 06:59:05 PM
The purpose of hiding buildings, at least the way I use it, is to build things, and find things, that are behind buildings.

Cutting factories and attractions on the first level of hiding, makes it possible for me to recognize them, while still being reasonably able to see to build a station, or just roads, behind them.

The second level of hiding, is probably more for looking at the flow of vehicles, and interacting with them, rather than construction. Therefore, more things can be made truly hidden. Often I wish for a way to make stations invisible to.

So the first level of hiding hides more than stated, while the second hides less. Writing an exact description of what gets hidden, would probably take too much space.
What about tooltip? Or even write it into help.
Title: Re: [r9180-Win] Hide city buildings error
Post by: prissi on August 17, 2020, 01:52:21 PM
Please change the translation on simutranslator. You can even submit a suggestion, if you do not want to register.