The International Simutrans Forum

Simutrans Extended => Simutrans-Extended bug reports => Simutrans-Extended development => Simutrans-Extended closed bug reports => Topic started by: zook2 on August 17, 2021, 12:38:40 AM

Title: Client crash when selling ship
Post by: zook2 on August 17, 2021, 12:38:40 AM
On the BB server, I had a brig on the Wharforth - Barkingpole route, docked in Wharforth. It couldn't find the route, so I added some waypoints. Apparently I forgot to click "Mirror route" and the ship tried to reach the next port without going through those waypoints. I wondered why it was stuck on "No route" forever. Anyway, I decided to just buy a new one and sell the one that got stuck (that was before I figured out my mistake). When I clicked "Withdraw" my client crashed. Miraculously the server didn't.
Title: Re: Client crash when selling ship
Post by: zook2 on August 18, 2021, 02:35:24 AM
Two more crashes today, each time when I launched a reconfigured Indiaman from the shipyard. This time the server seems to have crashed, too.
Title: Re: Client crash when selling ship
Post by: zook2 on August 18, 2021, 09:18:10 PM
Another crash. I think I can reproduce it: On the BB server, go to my shipyard west of Denthorpe. Reconfigure the Indiaman there and launch it without setting a new schedule. If it's still on "Individual schedule", client and server will crash.

Update: it crashes when you launch this ship, regardless of schedule.
Title: Re: Client crash when selling ship
Post by: jamespetts on August 21, 2021, 02:24:19 PM
Quote from: zook2 on August 18, 2021, 09:18:10 PM
Another crash. I think I can reproduce it: On the BB server, go to my shipyard west of Denthorpe. Reconfigure the Indiaman there and launch it without setting a new schedule. If it's still on "Individual schedule", client and server will crash.

Update: it crashes when you launch this ship, regardless of schedule.

I am afraid that I cannot reproduce this as, when I log into the game, there is no East Indiaman or any other ship in that shipyard.

There is a real problem with using reproduction cases on the server as the game state there changes rapidly. I am often unable to look into bug reports for days or weeks, so I do need a reproduction case that works at an arbitrary time in the future.

If you can reproduce these problems again, please do save and upload the server game in the state in which they can be reproduced so that I can investigate. Thank you.