The International Simutrans Forum

Development => Patches & Projects => Incorporated Patches and Solved Bug Reports => Topic started by: hreintke on September 07, 2021, 02:53:43 PM

Title: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: hreintke on September 07, 2021, 02:53:43 PM
This patch adds loading time to

- Depot display, vehicle info
- Convoi  display, vehicle details
- List of all vehicles

Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: THLeaderH on September 08, 2021, 10:25:56 AM
Could you post a screenshot to describe what you implemented?
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: hreintke on September 08, 2021, 01:01:12 PM
Sure, see attached
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: Ranran on September 08, 2021, 01:51:03 PM
I think adding a notation is a good idea because it clarifies the existence of the specification, but it may be difficult to imagine what kind of unit it is.
I mean the player thinks 1000 is how many minutes in game time. (I'm not sure about the latest specifications, but I think the unit was ms.)
I think it should be converted into in-game units that are easy for players to understand.
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: hreintke on September 08, 2021, 01:59:30 PM
Agree with the "units", thought about that also when implementing.

Did/do not now what units can/should be used, so first made this patch to show where and how to display.
Will update patch when we agree on the units and the display of thise.
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: Roboron on September 09, 2021, 04:54:36 PM
There's no documentation about it but reading old forum posts (https://forum.simutrans.com/index.php/topic,12803.msg127412.html#msg127412) it seems that Ranran is right and the time is in milliseconds (ms).

Milliseconds is not a very friendly unit for the user to manage, so I would vote for displaying the time in seconds (s) instead.
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: Sirius on September 09, 2021, 08:59:32 PM
yes, it's the internal tick unit, which is real-world milis in most cases.
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: prissi on September 11, 2021, 02:59:55 PM
I think one should merge the translations. Two different strings seems not really needed.
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: hreintke on September 12, 2021, 07:35:57 AM
Agree with the translations, will update those.

What is your idea about the units in which loading time should be presented ?
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: prissi on September 13, 2021, 03:28:18 AM
One could use the in game time with diffticks to string function if one does not want to use ms.
Title: Re: [patch] Add loading time to a number of displays
Post by: prissi on June 18, 2022, 01:52:52 PM
Incorporated in r10665 with unit in game time and changed for the new depot dialog.