The International Simutrans Forum

Community => Social & Contests => Stories, Screenshots, Videos & Saves => Topic started by: regbombay1 on September 12, 2008, 01:59:27 PM

Title: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on September 12, 2008, 01:59:27 PM
I was reading on the archive pages that a member of the forum was planning to construct the whole London transport network on the London Map...

After 3 months I have done it! Full Underground, Mainline and Suburban Railway (incl. London Overground), Tramways, DLR (using monorail), and Thames Riverboat Services; I have also built the major motorways, 'A' roads, airports, and Thames bridges/tunnels. All the routes have been tested and have one unit working on them at present.

I am currently working through the 800+ bus routes which I am having to shorten in some cases to avoid congestion in the City, Westminster, Camden, and Lambeth areas. The Underground in some areas has been built on elevated lines due to the heightfields relation to the river, but I can probably raise land and amend them with time.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Stubbsy on September 12, 2008, 02:40:07 PM
Sweet, can you post the save game or a link to it please? I'd love to play it, as i live just outside London :)
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on September 12, 2008, 10:09:25 PM
Stubbsy,

I have had problems uploading it because it is 10.8 MB. As there is a new saved game site set up I have contacted admin to see how I can get it uploaded to there so that you can download and play it. I will also upload/email the PAK that I use as it has some stuff from the Japanese Add-ons site and various other PAK files that don't come with the standard PAK folder.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: PatrickN on September 12, 2008, 10:50:18 PM
There are some free file hosting sites you could use.
http://www.filefront.com/
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on September 13, 2008, 03:08:19 PM
Patrick thanks for that, seems to have worked a treat.

Stubbsy: PAK 64 on version 99.17.1 (have not tried it on 100.0); the link to obtain the saved game is:

http://files.filefront.com/London+AAAsve/;11778985  New link added in post below

I have also uploaded the PAK file as a RAR , the link to obtain this is:

http://files.filefront.com/pakrar/;11779204/fieli  New link added in post below

I am working on bus routes (RailAir, Greenline, and London buses) at present, will upload once this is done and tested, although TfL bus stations are on. Rail route numbering (R xxx) relates to the National Rail Timetable number. Any problems or questions let me know.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: whoami on September 13, 2008, 05:03:25 PM
This is ... big. Really big! And impressive.

For placing the city buildings, you could use the new map editor in version 100.x. But it may be faster to modify the distribution algorithm in the program (so it fills the map automatically following a given pattern) instead of doing it by hand.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on September 13, 2008, 07:26:28 PM
This is ... big. Really big! And impressive.

For placing the city buildings, you could use the new map editor in version 100.x. But it may be faster to modify the distribution algorithm in the program (so it fills the map automatically following a given pattern) instead of doing it by hand.

Thanks Whoami.

As I am building bus routes I am letting the map do its 'own thing' in terms of building, I have also set up freight connections as my aim is that it will eventually turn a profit. I have now also added the Ruislip Lido Railway which I realised today was missing. Also I note that there is bus congestion on the uploaded saved game, I am going to address this by uploading a new version of the saved game with the first 100 bus routes on after testing for congestion.

Did you try it with version 100.0 and did it work ok?

Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: bbc100 on April 23, 2009, 11:33:38 PM
Is there any photo's of this???

Edit: It works with the latest one out when this message was written.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on April 27, 2009, 09:18:22 AM
The latest map is attached with over 100 bus routes on and extensions to Tramlink, Crossrail added, etc. Basically the map is now based on TfL's 2025 'wish-list' with some closed railway lines added. The PAK has been enlarged that applies to this game also. The Greenwich Transit is built as a tram route with services over the Thames Gateway bridge at Thamesmead however no service has been added to it yet as I have not used this game since Christmas having worked on a similar project for North of England.

Link for saved game:

http://files.filefront.com/London+Csve/;13666188;/fileinfo.html (http://files.filefront.com/London+Csve/;13666188;/fileinfo.html)

Link for PAK:

http://files.filefront.com/pakrar/;13666217;/fileinfo.html (http://files.filefront.com/pakrar/;13666217;/fileinfo.html)

Pictures also attached at low res of some areas on the map.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Maragil on May 03, 2009, 10:35:45 AM
Does it work on the latest version - 102 ?

Edit: hmmm. Using linux, 102, pak64 but :

FATAL ERROR: quickstone<T>::find_next()
no free index found (size=8192)
 

any ideas?

It looks awesome
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: z9999 on May 03, 2009, 11:21:23 AM
This game has 8577 stations.
If you want to load this savegame in v102, you need to change stations value in simuconf.tab, I think.
Or, use latest nightly. Latest nightly multiplies automatically.

Quote
#################################program stuff##################################

# max number of stations (just the amount of internal handles)
stations = 8192
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Maragil on May 03, 2009, 03:19:20 PM
what do i change it to?

Edit: i changed it to 16384, but I'm now getting segmentation faults :(
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: z9999 on May 03, 2009, 06:10:21 PM
Very sorry, I didn't test it.
Now I tried with 102.0 and 'stations = 10240' was Okay for me.
16384 is also no problem for me.

And as I wrote, if you will use the latest nightly versions of simutrans, you don't need to change this value (This value doesn't exist in simuconf.tab anymore.)

Edit: i changed it to 16384, but I'm now getting segmentation faults :(

I don't know that is the same problem or not. Did you use regbombay1's PAK set ?
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Maragil on May 04, 2009, 11:43:49 AM
used his pak set and it worked.

Reg, This is amazing!
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on May 05, 2009, 08:23:05 AM
My apologies to all, should have mentioned if you are using an earlier Simutrans version then the maximum number of stations and convoys needs changing to a higher value.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on November 28, 2009, 12:34:25 PM
sorry to bump this up, but the download links are dead :(
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on December 01, 2009, 08:49:02 PM
no one? :(
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Isaac.Eiland-Hall on December 01, 2009, 11:25:29 PM
The person who created it was last active on 11 November. Either they'll come back in see this, or they won't. Sorry.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on December 03, 2009, 10:56:10 PM
thats a real disappointment :(
anyone know how to make my own map based on london?
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Joker on December 03, 2009, 11:01:37 PM
I would think some research into London's transport networks would be the best place to start. Underground system maps, above ground rail lines, bus routes, motorways, etc.

I also think I created a London map way back for Timothy. I think that is a good start as well.

Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on December 03, 2009, 11:03:28 PM
I would think some research into London's transport networks would be the best place to start. Underground system maps, above ground rail lines, bus routes, motorways, etc.

I also think I created a London map way back for Timothy. I think that is a good start as well.



if there is a ready one, I wouldn't mind taking it at all (even if its a complete save game). I live in london so know all the ins and outs and secrets in transportation in london :p
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Joker on December 04, 2009, 01:39:01 AM
You Can find the map here. I only made it in one size. IIRC it actually is a very large map.
Good luck and enjoy :)

http://maps.simutrans.com/europe.html

Cheers Joker
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on December 04, 2009, 01:18:14 PM
You Can find the map here. I only made it in one size. IIRC it actually is a very large map.
Good luck and enjoy :)

http://maps.simutrans.com/europe.html

Cheers Joker
is there a way to place the cities and stuff before playing the game?
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on December 04, 2009, 02:19:47 PM
No, there isn't. Only the general shape of the land (and water) can be set with these maps. All objects (ways, buildings, vehicles, cities, trees, etc.) can only be added in-game.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on December 04, 2009, 02:42:05 PM
No, there isn't. Only the general shape of the land (and water) can be set with these maps. All objects (ways, buildings, vehicles, cities, trees, etc.) can only be added in-game.
is it planned to add this feature in the future?
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Combuijs on December 04, 2009, 03:13:57 PM
Quote
is it planned to add this feature in the future?

No, because the "stuff" belongs to a pakset which you should select first.

What you can do is start a new game and pause it immediately. Then start building.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: The Hood on December 04, 2009, 03:44:03 PM
Don't forget if you change to public services player you get the map editor tools (to allow you to place new stuff, and even set up factories and connections with more freedom).
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: iranair787 on December 04, 2009, 03:45:55 PM
^how to we get into the map editor?
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on December 04, 2009, 04:05:13 PM
That depends on which pakset you're using... But generally you have to switch over to the public service player in the game and then you should be able to find another tool button in the menu or in special construction tools menu.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: The Hood on December 04, 2009, 10:24:45 PM
in pak128.Britain:

Click on the crane icon, then click P+ icon until you see the "lines" button on the top menu change to an icon of a world with a key on top.  You are now the public service player.  Click on this new icon, and that's the map editor.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on December 08, 2009, 01:54:52 PM
My apologies, haven't read this post in a while.

WIll get the London network back up with a link by next week.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: MOHAAPlayer on February 16, 2010, 10:24:15 PM
It's been WAY over a week!
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: regbombay1 on February 19, 2010, 12:15:26 PM
Link is attached below:

http://www.filehosting.org/file/details/114686/London_F.sve

PAK File: http://www.filehosting.org/file/details/114716/pak.rar

I have not worked on this for a year.

Also by way of an apology attached is a North of England network based on the National Rail Timetable, and light rail operations which may be interesting, with authentic platform layouts for a number of stations including Sheffield Midland and Carlisle Citadel.

http://www.filehosting.org/file/details/114694/North_of_England_C.sve

PAK File: http://www.filehosting.org/file/details/114716/pak.rar




Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: raz444 on September 07, 2010, 09:48:52 PM
your links are dead ???
Title: London
Post by: BlueHat on May 19, 2011, 03:13:00 PM
Hi All,

Has anyone got an old copy of the saved game of London that regbombay1 made?

http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=402.0

Im dying to play it!!!

Cheers,

BH
Title: Re: London
Post by: Guillaume on May 20, 2011, 07:00:01 AM
Hi, I have an old copy "London_F", I don't know if it's the good because I can't verify with it because I got an error but you can try yourself with addons and some older versions.
Here the link where I upload it again : http://www.gamefront.com/files/20348044/London_F.sve (http://www.gamefront.com/files/20348044/London_F.sve)
Title: Re: London
Post by: BlueHat on May 20, 2011, 09:13:53 AM
Thanks Guillaume

I suspect I will need his Pak file to get this working, anyone got a copy? Or know which Pak I need to get it running?

Cheers,

BH
Title: Re: London
Post by: Guillaume on May 20, 2011, 09:42:12 AM
I tried several versions without addons as 102.2.2  101   100   99.17.1   but no one is able to run any of my saved games that I did several years ago and this one  ???    As I only play pak128, I don't know if there are some addons that are useful... But I suspect a bigger problem because I have saved games pak64 without addons, and I can't play with it...
Title: Re: London
Post by: BlueHat on May 20, 2011, 12:49:20 PM
Hmmm I like you can't seem to get this save file running, trying various versions.

I wonder if you can find out what paks have been used in a save file?

Or maybe on of the experts in Simutrans can get it working for us?

Cheers,

BH

Title: Re: London
Post by: BlueHat on May 23, 2011, 08:32:26 AM
Can anyone help?

I would be very appreciative if someone can get this running!

Cheers,

BH
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: vilvoh on May 23, 2011, 10:56:25 AM
Did you follow the instructions and install the proper pak file? anyway, I'm afraid the problem is that the savegame is not compatible with the latest Simutrans version. You can always try to make it by yourself... :::)
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: jap train fan on May 25, 2011, 06:12:35 AM
eidt:
ignore this post
the original post was ment to be somewhere else
removal of post please
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: jap train fan on May 25, 2011, 06:14:20 AM
dead links.
can it be uploaded again, i wold very much like to play it

Link for saved game:

http://files.filefront.com/London+Csve/;13666188;/fileinfo.html

Link for PAK:

http://files.filefront.com/pakrar/;13666217;/fileinfo.html
these links are dead

Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Guillaume on May 25, 2011, 07:41:03 AM
Jap train fan, you can found the savegame at the link of my post above. But I don't have the paks...  Try with some addons of that time because no one know actually...
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: jap train fan on May 25, 2011, 07:42:30 AM
thanks
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: BlueHat on May 25, 2011, 08:15:38 AM
if you get it working let us know.

good luck!
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: planestrainscomputer on July 03, 2015, 06:21:31 PM
Could someone upload the savegame and pak files? I know this is very old, but I am really dying to have a look at it.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Carl on July 03, 2015, 08:49:32 PM
I've never seen the save game. But I am very, very slowly doing something similar, with the trains at least. Save game one day!
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: 123abc on July 03, 2015, 09:36:09 PM
The last time this person was on here was: May 13, 2011
This is dead!
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Guillaume on July 04, 2015, 05:01:19 AM
I've checked nearly all of my old HDD, I don't have it anymore. I still have one old HDD to check, if I have it, I'll post it.
Title: Re: London Map - Fully Networked - pak64
Post by: Isaac.Eiland-Hall on November 26, 2016, 07:10:46 AM
Do. Not. Beg.