The International Simutrans Forum

PakSets and Customization => Other paksets => Pak96.HalfHeight => Topic started by: Frank on August 20, 2010, 10:24:34 AM

Title: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Frank on August 20, 2010, 10:24:34 AM
The idea is already several years old ( since 2006 ). Take the 64's scale and using 96 tiles. This gives you more room to the environment of the objects.

(http://simutrans-germany.com/pak96hh/pak96hh_demoscreen_t.jpg) (http://simutrans-germany.com/pak96hh/pak96hh_demoscreen.jpg)

The Alpha-Demo include non free objects for better feeling.

This set require the Simuttd version. A patch include in pak96.hh SVN (https://sourceforge.net/p/simutrans/code/HEAD/tree/pak96.hh).

pak96.hh_alpha-demo.zip (http://simutrans-germany.com/pak96hh/pak96.hh_alpha-demo.zip) ~ 1 MByte
simuttd_0-102-2-2_win_dotnet.zip (http://simutrans-germany.com/pak96hh/simuttd_win_dotnet.zip) ~ 700 KByte
testgame_96hh.sve (http://simutrans-germany.com/pak96hh/testgame_96hh.sve) ~ 400 KByte

Copy these files into an existing Simutrans 0.102.2.2 installation.
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Isaac.Eiland-Hall on August 20, 2010, 10:51:05 AM
This looks very interesting. :)
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: paco_m on March 11, 2011, 10:08:15 AM
Is somebody still working on this or interested in the proyect?
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Frank on March 11, 2011, 10:34:22 AM
I work at least not in it and will do so in the future no longer
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Spartanis on August 16, 2011, 11:03:18 AM
I really really like (and muchly prefer) half heights tiles in Simutrans. Could you explain to me how one could create ground paks to acheive this? (I use blender 3d)


Also.. why does it need simuTTD? and what is it?
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: prissi on August 16, 2011, 11:23:15 AM
The height is compiled into the simutrans program. You need to set this parameter to 8 (instead of 16) in simconst.h and recompile it. Of course you need a fitting lightmap for this.
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Spartanis on August 16, 2011, 11:40:12 AM
Ahhh.... I follow you Prissi. The standard Simutrans Compiled and released sets to normal height. But for any other hieght, its a completely different simutrans program. NOT the pakset.. Thanks for clearing that up :)
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Ashley on August 16, 2011, 11:25:18 PM
I have a half-height lightmap knocking around somewhere if you're interested.
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Spartanis on August 17, 2011, 09:09:06 AM
I would.. if someone compile the latest build of simutrans with simconst.h = 8 :P

To be utterly honest.. HH looks way better.. and practical. The FH looks insane steep slope for a car.. let alone a friggn train to climb up! :P
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Ashley on August 17, 2011, 09:23:15 AM
Prissi - how hard do you think it'd be to patch the game such that this parameter was configurable without recompiling? E.g. as a property of the pakset, or simuconf.tab?
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: prissi on August 17, 2011, 06:51:52 PM
It is easy. But I did not test the impakt on display time, since the factor is needed countless times. Also it needs a special pak set lightmap, other bridges etc. Thus this was not pursiuted further.

EDIT: Was nearly not visible during profiling => is incorporated in r4781.
Title: Re: pak96.hh ( half height )
Post by: Frank on January 05, 2016, 09:44:36 AM
for running under simutrans 112.3 and higher