The International Simutrans Forum

Community => Game Servers => Topic started by: ojii on October 18, 2011, 09:19:52 AM

Title: server requirements
Post by: ojii on October 18, 2011, 09:19:52 AM
Hi everyone

What are the rough requirements for hosting a simutrans game? How much RAM do I roughly need?
Title: Re: server requirements
Post by: Ashley on October 18, 2011, 09:55:46 AM
RAM scales with map size and game development, the RAM estimator in the game creation screen is roughly accurate, but you can add up to 25-50% more on top of that for a well-developed game.

CPU is almost unimportant for a headless server.

You'll want to be on a fairly good network connection, I think 10mbit is the recommended minimum.
Title: Re: server requirements
Post by: ojii on October 18, 2011, 10:22:18 AM
RAM scales with map size and game development, the RAM estimator in the game creation screen is roughly accurate, but you can add up to 25-50% more on top of that for a well-developed game.

CPU is almost unimportant for a headless server.

You'll want to be on a fairly good network connection, I think 10mbit is the recommended minimum.

CPU/bandwidth are not my concern. one can get fairly beefy/fast dedicated servers these days.

About RAM. Are we talking 256/512/1024/more? for a 'medium sized map', let's say 756x756 or something like that?
Title: Re: server requirements
Post by: Ashley on October 18, 2011, 10:43:13 AM
512x512 running pak64 is currently using 29MB physical memory, 51MB total
640x640 running pak128 - 94MB physical, 104MB total
384x384 running pak128.Britain - 82MB physical, 85MB total
459x771 running pak128 (moblet server) - 81MB physical, 103MB total

All of those are maps which have been running a couple weeks or so.
Title: Re: server requirements
Post by: ojii on October 18, 2011, 11:44:31 AM
Ah cool, so a 1GB box should be more than sufficient :D
Title: Re: server requirements
Post by: Ashley on October 18, 2011, 12:05:51 PM
Yeah you could run a few servers off that :)

Just make sure you use revision 4851 or higher from the nightlies, so you can make use of the new listings server.


Edit:

You can keep an eye on memory use of my servers here:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/server/simmoblet/memory.png
http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/server/