The International Simutrans Forum

PakSets and Customization => Pak128.Britain => Topic started by: The Hood on December 22, 2015, 01:26:50 PM

Title: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: The Hood on December 22, 2015, 01:26:50 PM
Christmas has come early for Pak128.Britain fans! You can download 1.17 from sourceforge (https://sourceforge.net/projects/simutrans/files/pak128.britain/pak128.Britain%20for%20120-1/).
(http://blog.simutrans.com/wp-content/uploads/pak128.Britain117.png)


New in this version:lots of new planes (Milko/JamesPetts)
  • lots of new modern trains (The Hood)
  • new rail tunnel internal graphics (Walsonja)
  • new road stops (Aquin/Wlindley)
  • new rail signal graphics (JamesPetts/Vladki)
  • more citybuildings (Archon)

(http://blog.simutrans.com/wp-content/uploads/2015_12_09_10.jpg)
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: HarrierST on December 23, 2015, 02:32:34 AM
I am a newcomer  to this game - so please forgive my total ignorance. But I am now completely confused. Thank god it is Xmas - so I have some leisure  time to recover.  :)

Tonight, I downloaded the latest Experimental version (July 2014) which included -  Simtrans 112.3, Experimental 11.35. BritPak 0.91.

Reading this post - a new BritPak  1.17 is available. But it requires SimTrans 120.1 .

Does this mean, this new release will NOT work with Experimental, as that only supports 112.3 and not 120.1.


Please help as my brain hurts.  ???
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: Junna on December 23, 2015, 04:02:09 AM
It might work with Experimental devel version (as in, it might load, but it will lack features).

Otherwise you can download the sources and compile the pak-set yourself from

https://github.com/jamespetts/simutrans-pak128.britain/tree/half-heights

Though Petts has yet to include the new vehicles here from the standard sources.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: Vladki on December 23, 2015, 07:49:13 AM
Just to clarify your confusion. Simutrans experimental is a fork of simutrans (standard) with extra features. So it also needs experimental pakset. The very fresh pak128.britain is for standard. The latest stable simutrans standard engine was released just a few momths ago. If you want the latest version you may search for nightly builds.

Experimental (pak and engine) was released more than year ago, and there are no nightlies. You have to compile from source.

I think in general people (specially those who are not fluent in english) think that experimental is some sort of beta, and dowload it instead of nightlies.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: The Hood on December 23, 2015, 11:00:10 AM
To confirm, this is a release for the standard version. Jamespetts releases experimental versions in the experimental board. An interesting point you raise Vladki. Perhaps "experimental" should be renamed something like "Simutrans+" to indicate it is an enhanced, extended version of the game not the latest development version.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on December 23, 2015, 11:31:26 AM
To confirm, this is a release for the standard version. Jamespetts releases experimental versions in the experimental board. An interesting point you raise Vladki. Perhaps "experimental" should be renamed something like "Simutrans+" to indicate it is an enhanced, extended version of the game not the latest development version.

The long-term plan is to rename it to "Simutrans-Extended" to retain the first two letters of the word "Experimental", to which I have purposely abbreviated pakset names for that very purpose (e.g., "Pak128.Britain-Ex"). However, I do want it to be properly balanced before it is renamed.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: The Hood on December 26, 2015, 03:17:49 PM
Just another thought about this. Is the new version able to be included in the online installer and are there announcements on Facebook /  g+? I've done a blog post but that's all I know how to do myself.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on January 05, 2016, 01:12:02 PM
Just a quick question. Having installed the pak to the latest release of simutrans how do I change the livery on trains? Loving the pak so far
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on January 05, 2016, 01:48:55 PM
Multiple liveries is a feature only available in Simutrans-Experimental. This version of the pakset is designed for Standard, so having multiple liveries on these new vehicles will have to wait until I integrate them into the Experimental version of the pakset. I am not sure whether a special addon has been compiled, featuring each different livery as a different type of vehicle; I know that it is intended to be possible to do this for Standard, but I am not sure whether it has been done.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on January 05, 2016, 01:53:27 PM
Thanks for the reply, did think it was an experimental feature. I'm on Mac so will have to wait for now
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on July 28, 2016, 04:03:04 PM
Have managed to get experimental running on PC now and am still getting to grips with the new features. Did like being able to have the class 91 in either IC or GNER livery. Hope the other livery options appear soon as it is perfect for running different player run trains over the same route and not just having everything running in default liverys
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: Moe Ron on July 29, 2016, 04:25:45 AM
Have managed to get experimental running on PC now and am still getting to grips with the new features. Did like being able to have the class 91 in either IC or GNER livery. Hope the other livery options appear soon as it is perfect for running different player run trains over the same route and not just having everything running in default liverys

Just a shame that it would take an enormous amount of RAM for a multiplayer game on a nicely sized map.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on July 29, 2016, 02:30:02 PM
The joys of jumping between players using "K".
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on July 29, 2016, 11:23:33 PM
Just a shame that it would take an enormous amount of RAM for a multiplayer game on a nicely sized map.

We have had a large map in multi-player running in 11.35 - my desktop PC from 2011 can manage it just fine. RAM usage is not the issue with Simutrans - it's more CPU power and memory bandwidth.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: Moe Ron on July 30, 2016, 03:07:06 PM
We have had a large map in multi-player running in 11.35 - my desktop PC from 2011 can manage it just fine. RAM usage is not the issue with Simutrans - it's more CPU power and memory bandwidth.

Really? What's your processor?
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on July 30, 2016, 03:15:42 PM
Core i7 950 overclocked.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on July 30, 2016, 04:15:18 PM
Don't suppose anyone has got all the liverys working on experimental? I only seem to have IC and GNER on the 91 set and am missing the 70 and 68 to name a few
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on July 30, 2016, 06:22:51 PM
Don't suppose anyone has got all the liverys working on experimental? I only seem to have IC and GNER on the 91 set and am missing the 70 and 68 to name a few

What version are you using? The new rail vehicles are only in the Github version at present, which needs self-compiling.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on July 31, 2016, 02:14:23 PM
Quite new to this so would not have a clue how to self compile. Useing the one that came with the download of experemental. Will be able to get an exact version number later on
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on July 31, 2016, 03:46:06 PM
Ahh, this would be the old version.
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on July 31, 2016, 03:46:44 PM
Beleive so, how would I go about setting up the new version
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: jamespetts on July 31, 2016, 03:48:07 PM
You would need to compile the new version of Makeobj from sources on Github (devel-new branch), use Makeobj to compile the pakset from the sources on Github (half-heights branch), then compile the latest executable from sources (devel-new branch again).
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on July 31, 2016, 03:51:53 PM
Will have a play about and see what I can get done
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on August 01, 2016, 03:20:25 PM
No luck, first problem was not having a clue how to get the items from GitHub or how to compile them. On the plus side dos manage to get a steam railway profiting in the version I'm running
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: JakeT7539 on August 02, 2016, 03:51:06 PM
Might give another try tomorrow, any tips?
Title: Re: Pak128.Britain 1.17
Post by: Ves on August 02, 2016, 05:29:34 PM
If you want to compile Simutrans Experimental from sources and setup a compile enviroment on your computer, I would suggest following the step by step guide in this thread:
http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=14254.0 (http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=14254.0)

Otherwise, you could try one of the builds I have compiled which is on my drop box folder. The pakset in there is a bit old currently, but there is a fresh makeobj you can use (using the steps from the previous step by step guide) to compile a fresh version of the pakset.

Dropbox folder:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/sdzp4v1ds8jz862/AADDhXTaVtJ4EaG-LpLlQc9na?dl=0 (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/sdzp4v1ds8jz862/AADDhXTaVtJ4EaG-LpLlQc9na?dl=0)


Dont forget to read the README! :)