The International Simutrans Forum

PakSets and Customization => Pak128 Bug Reports => Pak128 => Pak128 Solved Bug Reports => Topic started by: uci on April 09, 2011, 06:49:31 AM

Title: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: uci on April 09, 2011, 06:49:31 AM
Hope can be fixed.
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on April 09, 2011, 11:19:05 AM
No way to fix that, since ways are always drawn in the background of vehicles, regardless of the shape of the way. There is no "BackImage"/"FrontImage" parameter for ways, it's just "Image". So internally all ways are handled as flat roads or railroad tracks.

The only possible workaround would be to create the pillars (and part of the "track" - at least the parts that should cover the vehicles) as way-objects - requiring people to build both all the time. Yoshi did that for his Shonan Monorail - but it is a somewhat cumbersome solution.
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: VS on April 09, 2011, 05:12:24 PM
Thanks for the report! Unfortunately, as Dirk says, unless the program is extended, no reasonable thing to do with paks. (Not even draw_as_ding helps.)
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: prissi on April 11, 2011, 08:58:38 AM
You could use an electricfication for the pillars ... This goes in front too.
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: Dwachs on April 11, 2011, 06:23:55 PM
An implementation of way front images should not be that difficult.
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on April 11, 2011, 10:25:21 PM
You could use an electricfication for the pillars ... This goes in front too.

I had already mentioned that workaround  ;D


@Dwachs:

If we could maybe have front / back images for ways some day... could we then also get them for signals and roadsigns? You see, for left traffic, (or left signalling) scenarios, they are automatically drawn "wrongly", i.e. behind when they should be in front and vice versa.
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: Dwachs on April 12, 2011, 06:43:28 AM
The code that computes the correct image for signals/roadsigns is one of the dirrrrtiest parts of the simutrans code :P
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: Václav on April 13, 2011, 09:20:07 PM
You could use an electricfication for the pillars ... This goes in front too.
I know that inside pak128 is similar track - but it has pillar only behind track, itself - and over vehicle is electrification - but it would need to be re-made. I have planned to paint something like it - but I gave up.
Title: Re: monorail pillars clipping error
Post by: VS on May 05, 2012, 10:26:23 AM
Ways now have front images... I'm keeping this open, then :)

Or how about fixing this in r854? Closed :D