The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0  (Read 4146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Antonin

  • *
  • Posts: 43
Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« on: June 19, 2012, 12:16:51 AM »
I recently downloaded Simutrans 111.2 and pak128 ver 2.1.0.  I then copied pak128 into my Simutrans directory. 
 
When I launch Simutrans I double-click on pak128, and the pak begins to load. Then it stops and I see the message "Simutrans has encountered a problem and needs to close." 
 
The error signature is:
 
AppName: simutrans.exe  AppVer: 0.111.2.2  ModName: simutrans.exe
ModVer: 0.111.2.2  Offset: 002d5390
 
I also downloaded pak128 Britain and copied it into my Simutrans directory the same way, but I can launch it with no problems.  I also had no problem launching the default pak that comes with the game.
 
Has anyone else had trouble launching pak128 version 2.1.0?

Offline DCD

  • *
  • Posts: 134
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 01:21:46 AM »
i have a problem   whit   the new  simutrans   ver 111.3 :S       mi pak 128     says   fatal error  to much images       


Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 10:29:40 AM »
Might depend on which version of simutrans you're using. Windows SDL version works without any problems here...

Anyway, since pak128 has not changed, this appears to be a bug in the program rather than the pakset, I think...

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 11:03:00 AM »
First post: No idea what happens. You will have to provide more details...

Second post: You have too many addons.

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2012, 01:31:59 PM »
As a thought, since Prissi mentionned problems with Sourceforge downloads recently, maybe the files you downloaded are corrupt?  Did you try redownloading the files?

Offline DCD

  • *
  • Posts: 134
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2012, 02:16:22 PM »
i have a problem   whit   the new  simutrans   ver 111.3 :S       mi pak 128     says   fatal error  to much images       



soo i need  to delete my addons :(   

Offline Markohs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1559
  • Languages: EN,ES,CAT
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2012, 02:25:16 PM »
[EN]

DCD, try moving to another folder temporally and start the game, if that works (I'm quite sure it will), try to reduce the number of addons you use.

[ES]

Prueba quitar los addons (muévelos a otra carpeta temporalmente) y arrancar el juego, seguramente te funcionará sin problemas. Si es así, es que usas demasiados addons, intenta seleccionar los que usas, y quitar los que no usas. :)

Offline DCD

  • *
  • Posts: 134
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2012, 05:40:27 PM »
[EN]

DCD, try moving to another folder temporally and start the game, if that works (I'm quite sure it will), try to reduce the number of addons you use.

[ES]

Prueba quitar los addons (muévelos a otra carpeta temporalmente) y arrancar el juego, seguramente te funcionará sin problemas. Si es así, es que usas demasiados addons, intenta seleccionar los que usas, y quitar los que no usas. :)

 ok ok  thanks :)


o yes  the game run now   thanks :)  i clean   various addons xD 
« Last Edit: June 19, 2012, 08:22:40 PM by DCD »

Offline Antonin

  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2012, 10:01:20 PM »
...Anyway, since pak128 has not changed, this appears to be a bug in the program rather than the pakset, I think...

The version of pak128 I downloaded was 2.1.0, which was announced on Feb 25, 2012.  Maybe I need to download an earlier version?
 
EDIT: But I notice now that there is a new stable version of Simutrans, version 111.3.  So...maybe it would be best to just download and reinstall everything.

Offline Antonin

  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2012, 10:46:22 PM »
I have now downloaded Simutrans version 111.3 r 5773 using the online installer.  I checked the boxes for the installer to also install pak128 and pak128 Britain.  But, unfortunately, I still get the same error message I mentioned above when I try to launch pak128.
 
I am able to launch pak128 Britain and the default pak with no problems.

Offline Antonin

  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2012, 09:39:00 PM »
First post: No idea what happens. You will have to provide more details...

I'm sorry, but since the game does not load at all when I select pak128, there is no save game to post.  I am running Win XP.  My version of Simutrans is 111.3 r 5773.  I installed Simutrans and pak128 using the online installer. When I played earlier versions of Simutrans I had no problems with pak128.  In fact, in the past I always played either pak128 or pak128 Britain.

Oh well.  Maybe the issue will resolve itself in future releases.

Anyway, pak128 Britain and the default pak work fine. 

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2012, 04:05:22 PM »
Have you tried downloading pak128 manually? Maybe the installer has some issues (as other reports seem to suggest)...

Offline Antonin

  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2012, 10:25:00 PM »
Have you tried downloading pak128 manually? Maybe the installer has some issues (as other reports seem to suggest)...

Yes.  The first time I got the error while trying to load pak128 was when I downloaded pak128 manually.  Then I downloaded and installed the latest stable Simutrans and pak128 using the online installer. Same result.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2012, 10:54:10 PM »
Do you have any addons for simutrans installed?

Offline Antonin

  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Crashes when trying to start pak128 ver 2.1.0
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2012, 01:47:38 AM »
No addons.  I have never used addons because I have been afraid of installing an addon the wrong way and messing up the game.   :)