The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk  (Read 8078 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« on: November 23, 2012, 12:36:35 AM »
Currently running Simutrans stable 112.1 (r6212) with pak64 112.1.

Download Simutrans and pakset from: http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?board=3.0

This server is accessible over both IPv4 and IPv6.

The server will pause when no clients are connected.

Screenshot of the map:




Previous savegames can be found here, listed by the date when the server was shut down:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/server/sim64c/archive/
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 02:45:37 PM by Timothy »

Offline paichtis

  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2012, 03:46:03 PM »
C is down again. Perhaps we should make a thread about this server ?
Edit : it's up again
« Last Edit: November 23, 2012, 05:08:29 PM by paichtis »

Offline edson

  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Languages: PT, EN
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2012, 05:26:38 PM »
Server C: Players blocking other players ways/factories.
Screenshot: Look he trying to block my way. He blocking tunnels/bridges.


Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9518
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2012, 09:00:27 PM »
Maybe simutrans needs to allow the removal of infrastructure when no convoi passed ever and more than two month passed since laying or so ...

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2012, 11:03:47 PM »
Sounds like a reasonable solution to me.

Offline Fifty

  • *
  • Posts: 280
  • Languages: EN, ES
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2012, 12:29:14 AM »
It's often necessary to reserve track for an expanded station or double track line, else someone will build a small bridge nearby and you won't be able to complete your line. I also like to build big sections of track one evening and place trains the next day. I think most of the time this is done in good faith. Moreover, it should not be as big an issue once we can build stations in tunnels again online...

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9518
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2012, 09:39:10 PM »
Other solution for the screenshot will be a drastic increase of the alter land costs by a factor of ten or more.

Offline paichtis

  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2012, 12:36:24 AM »
Other solution for the screenshot will be a drastic increase of the alter land costs by a factor of ten or more.
I'm all for it as I (and others) over use alter land but it won't change anything after a few years of game time.

Offline edson

  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Languages: PT, EN
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2012, 02:58:56 AM »
I created a escape to the Chemical Plant, but, I'm stopping playing on this server, there is a player monopolizing it with overpowered stations. :)

Offline Fifty

  • *
  • Posts: 280
  • Languages: EN, ES
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2012, 03:55:11 AM »
there is a player monopolizing it with overpowered stations. :)

This is, I think, the bigger issue when netgaming-- that whatever player has a larger station at a particular industry tends to get all of the output until that station gets crowded, regardless of whether other players have better routes.

Online Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4591
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2012, 12:38:22 PM »
This is, I think, the bigger issue when netgaming-- that whatever player has a larger station at a particular industry tends to get all of the output until that station gets crowded, regardless of whether other players have better routes.
Could you open a thread about this as extension request?

Grupo Rodrigus

  • Guest
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2012, 09:35:24 PM »
Good evening, folks!

It was nice playing with you all as Cunhambebe Transportes Ltda. I decided to leave my company open - someone has already taken it - after a weekend full of connection crashes (i heard it doesn't happen to anyone else, so I credit it to my poor countryside Brazilian 3G connection).
Besides saying "hello" and "thanks" to all of you, I'd like to make some simple suggestions:
* If possible, please create a "D" server, since all existing servers are unavailable for new players.
* The public sector could create public passenger stops/terminuses in main towns, in order to facilitate integration between passengers of different cities/companies.

Cheers!

Offline IgorEliezer br

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4087
  • Cake recipes are cool... REALLY!
    • Igor Eliezer Architect and Urban Planner/Arquiteto e Urbanista
  • Languages: PT, EN, AutoLISP, Python
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2012, 11:32:08 PM »
Besides saying "hello" and "thanks" to all of you
* IgorEliezer waves back. :)

Offline edson

  • *
  • Posts: 381
  • Languages: PT, EN
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2012, 11:51:12 PM »
Wow, the server is full right now, can't play;  :police:

* If possible, please create a "D" server, since all existing servers are unavailable for new players.

I has thinking about it, maybe Simutrans team can add a extension to reset a player slot if there is no movement like new lines, vehicles, any work or days without visit.

Offline Fifty

  • *
  • Posts: 280
  • Languages: EN, ES
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2012, 03:38:20 AM »
I has thinking about it, maybe Simutrans team can add a extension to reset a player slot if there is no movement like new lines, vehicles, any work or days without visit.

This has been suggested a few times before, I've formalized an extension request finally: http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=10961.msg106101;topicseen#msg106101.

Edit: Someone's already locked all of the remaining players on b.64...
« Last Edit: November 29, 2012, 03:44:01 AM by Fifty »

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9518
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2012, 03:13:26 PM »
I thought that was implemented already quite some time ago. But should not hard to realize. Unfourtunately this will not affect games with autopause.

Offline paichtis

  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2012, 10:00:56 AM »
There is no way to stay connected to this server more than a few seconds.
I'd fill a bug report but my gut feeling is that it is somehow related to the either the underground bug or the port bug already fixed in the nightlies.

Offline TurfIt

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1326
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2012, 08:50:19 PM »
I can run this save using 112.0 on a local server with no issues, not likely something fixed in the nightlies.
Connecting to the c. server results in a simrand mismatch on the third NWC_CHECK. Always the third.
Since I have no problem locally, there's no way to track further...

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2012, 10:15:35 PM »
Hm, I can run these servers using nightly builds but then the issue is that it increases the barrier to entry for the average player. I do have it automated to the point where upgrading them every time the map changes wouldn't be too hard (but then players would have to upgrade Simutrans every 3 weeks or so...)

Online Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4591
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2012, 08:19:30 AM »
Do you run patched servers? Or just the release but compiled without graphics?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2012, 10:47:37 PM »
I have a couple of small patches I apply that make management easier, and I've been testing the daemon/syslog stuff out on one. Things which don't alter the version of the game that clients need seems fine. Obviously compiled with the posix backend and 0 colour depth. :)

Offline paichtis

  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #21 on: December 14, 2012, 12:09:58 AM »
From the experimental server  discussion :

While the ship pathfinding is only when a ship starts, the sheer number of ships present has quite a few starts per second. For passenger numbers, given an equal number of passengers in transit, experimental has far more ware packets due to tracking the origin than standard. Definitely a performance drain that.


I don't think the VPS is handling it. Seems the server is hitting 100% CPU. At least my client keeps running ahead and getting choked back by the above difftime adjustment(could be network latency instead but I'm seeing a steady 101ms to the server). i.e. It doesn't look like the server is achieving its target FPS. And of course one is very susceptible to disconnects when running ahead - a single other client sending a command and you're done. Why it's vital a server never maxes out.

Could this be the explanation for the desynchs ? There are tons of ships in this server (if I remember well my main PAX line alone had around 200 ships, add to this many oil lines most with around 20 ships ...)

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #22 on: December 14, 2012, 12:12:57 AM »
None of the Simutrans instances running on my server use more than about 1% of the CPU time of the machine. The VM has 8 virtual cores, but even taking into account the single-threaded nature of Simutrans it isn't maxing out...

You can see the CPU and memory usage of the servers over the past 24 hours here:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/server-memory.html

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: c.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #23 on: December 28, 2012, 02:46:13 PM »
Server upgraded to the new stable, with a new map.