The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason  (Read 3017 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
[10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« on: January 29, 2013, 09:52:42 PM »
the train at 1194,1131 is stuck for no apparent reason.  i've seen this today in another place too, today. I'll try to release it, but you can see this in the 21:11 save.

edit: I clicked 'schedule' then closed the schedule window, it resumed driving.


Also the Tram 1183,1032, same thing. It had the same problem from a few months ago where it reserved a track ahead. I unlocked it with 'b'.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 10:03:30 PM by asaphxiix »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 01:23:14 AM »
If this problem is limited to when 10.25 was first deployed to the server and does not reappear, I am minded to leave things; this might either be an issue relating to not saving block reservations, or a temporary side effect of the fix applied to prevent the bug from 10.24 from stopping the server again. I should be grateful for any information on whether this recurs.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2013, 02:09:19 AM »
yes, this recurred shortly after I fixed it. seems to happen an cetrain spots, and quite resembling the issue that was some versions ago.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2013, 02:19:27 AM »
Can you let me know specifically where they tend to recur?

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2013, 10:10:02 AM »
nope, seems to happen at different locations. Only in circular route.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2013, 11:25:11 AM »
Does it reserve a random section a long way ahead as a previous bug did, or does it manifest in some other way? I shan't be able to find and fix the problem without being able to reproduce it reliably.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2013, 11:30:53 AM »
yes, it's just like the previous bug (mostly only a few tiles ahead, or even one, but can be more). Only sometimes I can't seem to find the reserved track, so I click on random tiles ahead of the train, and it resumes driving at some point.

This happens quite often, you should be able to catch it - or do you need to actually see it happen? If you need i'll upload the 21:11 save, I see it's not in the backup bank anymore.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2013, 11:47:48 AM »
What I need to be able to do is know in advance which specific tile will be wrongly reserved, so that I can set a breakpoint that is triggered only when that specific tile is reserved, so that I can see how the code reserving the tile came to be called incorrectly. If you can reproduce a specific sequence with this occurring and I can predict the tile, I should be able to track down the bug.

Thank you very much for your help!

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2013, 11:56:54 AM »
this may be possible, I'll try saving often.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2013, 12:05:01 PM »
Thank you very much! Let me know what you come up with.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2013, 12:16:57 PM »
in one attempt, I loaded a game in which i knew trams would get stuck at appledale a while later, but no reproduction.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2013, 12:25:43 PM »
in the 11:25 save, you can see it happen exactly when the game is loaded, at 1806 1334 (pause the game to see the train go from it and the train right after it gets stuck).

However, this might not be exactly what we're looking for. I believe it happens also apart from saving and loading, but I can't tell for sure.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2013, 12:32:29 PM »
It would be very helpful if you could test specifically to see whether this occurs apart from saving/loading, as this is a somewhat important consideration in knowing where to look for the bug.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2013, 08:20:58 PM »
So far I can pretty safely say that this is a save/load issue. A very grave one as well :\

Strange that it only appeared on this version.

Anyway, any ideas for a way to "work around"  it? I fear I might have to remove all trams.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2013, 12:27:34 AM »
Please let me know whether this problem recurs in 10.26.

Offline asaphxiix

  • *
  • Posts: 723
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2013, 12:45:00 AM »
problem solved :)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2013, 01:54:18 AM »
Excellent!

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2013, 11:26:35 PM »
still seems to happen in some instances.

In the north corner, SP1/SP2/SP3 has become stuck after a save/load.

Also, I've noticed IPA's convoy 105 has become stuck in a strange way.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17111233/client4-network.sve

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: [10.25] trains get stuck for no reason
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2013, 11:50:31 PM »
Convoys becoming stuck after a save/load is a known issue relating to not saving route reservations, which should be fixed when 112.x merge is finished and incorporated.