News:

Want to praise Simutrans?
Your feedback is important for us ;D.

Simple Multiplayer enhancement with large effect (auto kick idlers)

Started by Kobalt, March 20, 2013, 06:29:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kobalt

The problem: You join one of the very few servers, maybe even install some special pakset just to be able to access the server, but then you'll find out that 16 of 16 slots are used. Finally you check the players list and find that at least half of the slots are occupied by companies which never were used to do anything. Since nobody is playing them they will never run out of money. The attachment shows the situation where obviously one or several people reserved some slots without playing, unfortunately they are preventing other players from playing.

The solution: Introducing a timelimit to free slots which are obviously occupied without any activity. Let's say after 1 oder 2 hours.

That's it, just an idea from a newbie to Simutrans. As a newbie I know the situation when joining a Simutrans multiplayer server the first time and messing around with the player slots until all of them are occupied suddenly and still not able to play because the way it works is way different than usual. I have a lot of multiplayer experience for many different games and the way to join the game and secure the slot is by far the most tricky one in Simutrans if you never did it before.