The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Addons location under linux (SOLVED!)  (Read 3452 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cy087

  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Languages: EN
Addons location under linux (SOLVED!)
« on: April 04, 2013, 08:48:22 AM »
In the release notice http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=11613.msg114276#msg114276 Prissi says:

ATTENTION: Addons now reside inside a folder "addons" in the simutrans folder. Please move your addons into that folder! Scenario folder also has changed!

I don't seem to be able to get this working right.  I am running in "single user" mode. i.e Simutrans is in /home/<"me">/simutrans.  If I move my addons to /home/<"me">/simutrans/addons they don't get loaded at all.  As I (thought) I understood it, addons should either become new objects or if the name.pak is the same as a PAKset object then the PAKset object will get "over-ridden" when the pakset is loaded.

I also can't seem to get the gist of this:  If I have several PAKsets i.e. ~/simutrans/pak64, ~/simutrans/pak128, etc then will the game load the correct addons for the selected PAKset?

just a bit confused
CY
« Last Edit: April 05, 2013, 08:26:43 AM by cy087 »

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4597
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 09:07:36 AM »
Addons should got to

~/simutrans/addons/pak128/

etc

Offline cy087

  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Languages: EN
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 10:18:44 AM »
That's where I have been putting them.  But this of course overwrites any same named .pak files.  I just thought this may be a way to make it easier to keep the addons separate to the core pakset.  Oh well. 
CY

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9519
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2013, 10:56:00 AM »
You paksets should not be in ~/simutrans in single user mode. Unless you installed simutrans in ~/simutrans your paksets should be next to the executable.

/usr/bin/simutrans/simutrans
/user/bin/simutrans/pak128/...

~/simutrans/addons/pak128/...

If you do simgle user mode, then the addons should go into
bla/simutrans
bla/pak128/
bla/addons/pak128
...

Did you edit config/simuconf.tab to enable the single_user mode (the very top of this file)? And you are sure the right version that starts?
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 08:55:32 PM by prissi »

Offline Markohs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1559
  • Languages: EN,ES,CAT
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2013, 10:57:14 AM »
Not really, because the pak is to be installed in ~/simutrans/pak128 and the addons in ~/simutrans/addons/pak128 , no? They are different directories.

Offline cy087

  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Languages: EN
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2013, 11:00:51 PM »
Did you edit config/simuconf.tab to enable the single_user mode (the very top of this file)? And you are sure the right version that starts?

Well, I thought this might be the problem, as when I installed 112.2 I did forget to set this in the simuconf.tab but still no joy.

Using bla = /home/<me>/simutrans:

I have set the pakset and add-ons as follows:
1)  bla/pak128 contains only the official PAKset files
2)  added bla/pak128/addons and put all the addon .pak files here

I have tried both  "singleuser_install = 0" and "singleuser_install = 1" in the bla/config/simuconf.tab
I am running version 112.2 - r6390 as reported in the program banner.

Any further clues?
Have I the got the name of the add ons folder correct, (remembering that  linux is case dependant) - bla/pak128/addons?

tia
CY
 

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2900
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 11:32:50 PM »
Inside the addons folder you create new folders with the same name the pakset folder has and place the addons inside them.
So, addons should go to simutrans/addons/pakFolderName
Ex.: pak128 -> simutrans/addons/pak128
pak64 -> simutrans/addons/pak64

Offline cy087

  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Languages: EN
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2013, 07:56:44 AM »
yes, Yes, YES!  ;D (well almost)  ???

Thanks to An_dz! Have a virtual beer on me!


Almost, because only some of the addons load not all of them.  Most lamentably, SFC does not appear in the factory list
Dumb user!  OK, using a start year of 2020 everything appears!  Yahoo!

So the definitive answer (for single user mode under linux) is:
1) MUST have singleuser_install = 0 in the ~/simutrans/config/simuconf.tab file
2) MUST run with -addons
3) Add on .pak files MUST be located in ~/simutrans/addons/<pakset_id>

So now I have the Fried Chicken, most all of mEga's brilliant stuff and some other really nice addons.  I am off to create havoc amongst the population!

Thanks to all for your patience  with this.  By way of gratitude (sort of  ;) ) here's a list of 1500 Australian street names generated randomly from the Australian postal code database and a few additions of my own to  acknowledge our "furry creatures".  Hope you find it amusing (it goes in <whatever>/pak128/text btw).

cheers
CY

Offline IgorEliezer br

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4087
  • Cake recipes are cool... REALLY!
    • Igor Eliezer Architect and Urban Planner/Arquiteto e Urbanista
  • Languages: PT, EN, AutoLISP, Python
Re: Addons location under linux
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2013, 08:33:11 AM »
Thanks to An_dz! Have a virtual beer on me!
:o !!! Don't let the kids see it!

just kidding  ;D

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2900
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Addons location under linux (SOLVED!)
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2013, 04:34:18 PM »
Thanks to An_dz! Have a virtual beer on me!

here's a list of 1500 Australian street names generated randomly from the Australian postal code database
Australian beer? Never got one. Here's a Brazilian one for you:
« Last Edit: March 07, 2016, 03:48:39 AM by An_dz »

Offline Markohs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1559
  • Languages: EN,ES,CAT
Re: Addons location under linux (SOLVED!)
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2013, 04:47:33 PM »
I'll send you my favourite:



 Who doesn't like german beers and cars? ;)