The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: British Trains for Pak 64  (Read 66265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18683
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #175 on: April 21, 2019, 01:02:22 PM »
I'd make some for pak128.britain if I knew how to modify liveries properly in Blender.

There is a step-by-step tutorial on how to do this here. If anything is unclear about how to do that, do let me know (preferably on that thread rather than this).

If you would like to make additional vehicles or liveries for Pak128.Britain-Ex, that would be much appreciated.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #176 on: April 21, 2019, 03:00:03 PM »
There is a step-by-step tutorial on how to do this here. If anything is unclear about how to do that, do let me know (preferably on that thread rather than this).

If you would like to make additional vehicles or liveries for Pak128.Britain-Ex, that would be much appreciated.
I know how to change colours of vehicles on Blender, but I can't adjust the models to create liveries of different shapes yet.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18683
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #177 on: April 21, 2019, 03:04:02 PM »
I know how to change colours of vehicles on Blender, but I can't adjust the models to create liveries of different shapes yet.

See here for an excellent Blender tutorial.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #178 on: April 21, 2019, 03:27:41 PM »
Edit 22/4/15: the link below now provides a complete set of trains used on the finished GB map.
----------

In conjunction with my Great Britain map, I've been making lots of contemporary British rolling stock. I'm now ready to release a first version of the trains I've been using on that map for general use.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/BritishTrains.rar

Here's a non-exhaustive screenshot (i.e. the pack contains more trains than this):



The pack contains Standard and Experimental versions, as well as sources.

Please consider this a beta release. Many of the vehicles still need work. While vehicle stats (power, speed, capacity) are more or less accurate, intro years and economic balance are not by any means accurate. Furthermore, there are lots of graphical tweaks needed. I will, of course, update the package given time.

I may start livery producing for this pakset as it seams not as challenging as when you have to make liveries for the pak128-britain pakset using blender which I have in the past attempted to do and admittedly was able to produce some liveries but certain other aspects I could not manage so therefore thats why I stopped attempting to make liveries for the pak128-britain pakset.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #179 on: April 21, 2019, 07:23:01 PM »
I may start livery producing for this pakset as it seams not as challenging as when you have to make liveries for the pak128-britain pakset using blender which I have in the past attempted to do and admittedly was able to produce some liveries but certain other aspects I could not manage so therefore thats why I stopped attempting to make liveries for the pak128-britain pakset.
Any liveries that you want to do in particular?

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #180 on: April 21, 2019, 08:29:43 PM »
Any liveries that you want to do in particular?

I'll just be doing liveries which have not been made yet plus also where can I get the pngs for all the trains in the pakset?

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #181 on: April 21, 2019, 08:59:34 PM »
I think Carl provided a link somewhere either in this thread or the GB Map thread - I'm not quite sure where. I keep all my pak64 stuff in one folder, so if you can't find them anywhere else then I can send you it (with a few extras).

On a side note, would someone else be willing to compile the .png files I've uploaded (the 317 set, the 387 and the 321, as well as a 230 and 350 I have) into .pak files? Makeobj isn't working properly for me (it makes a .pak file, but it is only 1KB and doesn't put the trains into the pakset). I will write .dat files for the trains as well if you are willing to do this. Thanks.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #182 on: May 03, 2019, 11:20:52 PM »
Successfully sorted the 318s! Could we please have a Class 320 as well?

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #183 on: May 04, 2019, 09:53:38 AM »
Successfully sorted the 318s! Could we please have a Class 320 as well?
How did you manage to do it?

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #184 on: May 04, 2019, 03:00:33 PM »
 Command Prompt through Windows. :)

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #185 on: May 04, 2019, 03:18:59 PM »
Command Prompt through Windows. :)
I've done that before, but the pak files don't show up in-game. Did you get the train in-game?

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #186 on: May 04, 2019, 03:52:42 PM »
Yep.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #187 on: May 04, 2019, 04:57:49 PM »
How did you get it to work in the command line?

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #188 on: May 05, 2019, 11:59:54 AM »

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #189 on: May 05, 2019, 03:01:18 PM »
If you paint the Class 320 (SPT) and provide DAT files, I can compile them, thanks.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #190 on: May 10, 2019, 02:44:25 PM »
I think Carl provided a link somewhere either in this thread or the GB Map thread - I'm not quite sure where. I keep all my pak64 stuff in one folder, so if you can't find them anywhere else then I can send you it (with a few extras).

On a side note, would someone else be willing to compile the .png files I've uploaded (the 317 set, the 387 and the 321, as well as a 230 and 350 I have) into .pak files? Makeobj isn't working properly for me (it makes a .pak file, but it is only 1KB and doesn't put the trains into the pakset). I will write .dat files for the trains as well if you are willing to do this. Thanks.
Sure! I will.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #191 on: July 09, 2019, 12:29:57 PM »
Question,

Which train that's currently available would be best to turn into either an Aventra or a Civity? Since those two trains are going to play a big part in the future on Britain's rail network, I want to make them, but I don't know what I could use as a base and I just want ideas. Thank you.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #192 on: July 12, 2019, 02:49:28 PM »
Is it possible to make a Class 320 SPT and I’ll compile the files?

Thanks

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #193 on: August 12, 2019, 08:23:42 AM »
First repaint I'm happy with - ScotRail Class 365 (Interim) would be useful to use on the GB map with if you electrify Edinburgh to Glasgow and Dunblane/Alloa. :)

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #194 on: August 12, 2019, 08:29:57 AM »
Update: Forgot to update one of the coaches, so here's the proper unit. ;)

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1590
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #195 on: August 12, 2019, 09:53:58 AM »
Nice work. I didn't even realise Scotrail had taken on Class 365s.

Do you have a screenshot?

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #196 on: August 12, 2019, 07:34:02 PM »
Nice work. I didn't even realise Scotrail had taken on Class 365s.

Do you have a screenshot?
They did from May last year to May this year - as a stopgap to run electric trains from Waverley-Queen Street and Dunblane while the delays to the 385s were going on. They were stored in Crewe/parts of Scotland when enough 385s were delivered.

Anyways, here's a Class 320 in SPT livery.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #197 on: August 12, 2019, 09:08:32 PM »
They did from May last year to May this year - as a stopgap to run electric trains from Waverley-Queen Street and Dunblane while the delays to the 385s were going on. They were stored in Crewe/parts of Scotland when enough 385s were delivered.

Anyways, here's a Class 320 in SPT livery.

The only tricky thing I see still to be done is what to use as a Class 385 repaint.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #198 on: August 12, 2019, 09:24:54 PM »
They did from May last year to May this year - as a stopgap to run electric trains from Waverley-Queen Street and Dunblane while the delays to the 385s were going on. They were stored in Crewe/parts of Scotland when enough 385s were delivered.

Anyways, here's a Class 320 in SPT livery.

I've updated some of the Scottish EMUs with new Saltire repaints - seen here:

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #199 on: August 13, 2019, 08:21:21 AM »
The only tricky thing I see still to be done is what to use as a Class 385 repaint.
Possibly either adapting the 380 or the 458/5, although I've attempted both and they are tricky.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #200 on: August 17, 2019, 12:08:37 AM »
Possibly either adapting the 380 or the 458/5, although I've attempted both and they are tricky.

Successfully made one, photos coming soon...

Offline Takamaro

  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Languages: JP
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #201 on: Yesterday at 08:49:48 PM »
Hello, everyone!

I'm very interested in this thread and would like to draw any British train.
I have confidence in drawing how complex designed vehicles in pak64 size.
(And I developed the special tool that change liveries easily, so I can draw many colour patterns quickly!)
Please tell me train class never made as addon and I'll try to draw.

Thank you.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 184
  • Languages: EN
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #202 on: Yesterday at 09:37:28 PM »
Hello, everyone!

I'm very interested in this thread and would like to draw any British train.
I have confidence in drawing how complex designed vehicles in pak64 size.
(And I developed the special tool that change liveries easily, so I can draw many colour patterns quickly!)
Please tell me train class never made as addon and I'll try to draw.

Thank you.
A Class 345, a Class 710, a Class 195/331, if you want ideas. :)

Offline Takamaro

  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Languages: JP
Re: British Trains for Pak 64
« Reply #203 on: Today at 05:23:42 AM »
Thank you for your replying, NoMorePaces.

My templates of vehicle and drawing technique is too different from your BR trains works,
so I try repainting Class345 based by your class 320 ScotRail colored not to break your works' world..


but I can't understand boundary between body and hoods between cars.
and somepantagraph is not natural.

Could you give me the your correct works' template?

Thanks.