News:

Do you need help?
Simutrans Wiki Manual can help you to play and extend Simutrans. In 9 languages.

New signals - coding

Started by Max-Max, May 12, 2013, 01:40:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Max-Max

This thread is intended for the development of the "new" signal system. The brainstorm and discussion about the signal functionality are discussed here.

This thread will discuss the code implementation only.
- My code doesn't have bugs. It develops random features...

Max-Max

We need to get the code ready for development. I'm not quite sure of how you meant regarding the repository.

If I create a local copy of the master and Erik creates a local copy of the master how do we synch our local copies (Erik's and mine) without a server?!?

By the way, I found this excellent page about TortoiseGit vs TortoiseSVN

Erik

I've no big experience with Git servers. So I don't border about what it will become.
I've to learn it at anyway.  ;)

Further, the first thing what we needed is a function "signal_speed_limit()" who limits the allowable speed.

jamespetts

What you need to do is as follows:

(1) each create a fork of my 112.x-private-car-merge branch;
(2) one of you create a new signalling-overhaul (or something) branch on your own repository;
(3) the other one of you pull from the signalling-overhaul repository;
(4) each of you work on changes on your own signalling-overhaul repositories as necessary;
(5) each of you push to your own repositories each time that you have a single coherent set of changes/fixes;
(6) each of you pull from each other's repositories when the other has pushed a set of changes/fixes;
(7) each of you pull new changes from my 112.x-private-car-merge branch (or any successor branch, such as a probable future 11.x branch) whenever I make changes onto your own local master branches; and