The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [patch] Select direction of station buildings  (Read 5237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline z9999

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 848
[patch] Select direction of station buildings
« on: January 15, 2009, 07:49:00 AM »
This tool enables you to select direction of station buildings

Usage:
1. Press shift key and click station building icon on toolbar.
2. If station building has more than one layout, "select window" will open.
3. Choose layout and click button.
4. Click land where you want to build it.

If you close select window without select, it will be normal (auto) mode.
If you don't press shift key or layout is only one, it will be normal (auto) mode.

Problem:
 You may need to click icon on toolbar twice to open select window.


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 09:09:43 AM by z9999 »

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 08:39:42 AM »
Cool. I like it.

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2009, 08:51:25 AM »
From my point of view, there's another big problem: the size of the window depends on the number of building rotations and the building dimensions. Don't get me wrong, the patch seems really helpful because sometimes, when you're going to place extension building you actually can't asure how it will be placed and which will be the final result.

In order to save screen space, why don't you implement a mechanism similar to an image gallery, in this case would be a rotations gallery. It would have three buttons: next rotation, previous rotation and select/use rotation (see image attached)

P.S: The image is just a composition for illustrating the explanation, I haven't used or modified the patch.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 09:14:37 AM by vilvoh »

Offline z9999

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 848
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2009, 09:20:43 AM »
Yes, I don't like big window, too.
But this is dialog, when you click one of buttons, window will be closed automatically.
I think number of click is important, your idea needs many clicks.

In fact, I like windowless like this, but prissi don't as below, and also this don't live with normal (auto) mode.
Quote
Click ... South
Shift click ... North
Ctrl click ... Eaat
Shift Ctrl click ... North

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9472
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2009, 09:22:43 AM »
This needs some tweaking, as a parameter is passed not via the default string, which means this is not network save. But I will look into it.

Offline z9999

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 848
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2009, 09:13:44 AM »
Updated for r2310.



Quote
r2316:
ADD: (mainly z9999) rotation of extension buildings can be selected by clicking on tool with CNTRL

Thank you very much for your many work.
It is very nice that cursor can show its size like map editor tools.
Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 03:37:58 PM by z9999 »

Offline Bigtop

  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2009, 09:47:46 PM »
How do I install this?

Offline whoami

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 693
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2009, 10:02:09 PM »
How do I install this?
This patch? You can't simply install it - please read this for more information. But it may be included in a nightly build.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9472
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2009, 10:02:16 AM »
Anything here is already in the trunk (and also in 102, just hold the control button when selecting a station extension building).

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2009, 10:10:55 AM »
I have it tried. Thank you to all. Very nice.  :)

Offline blitzmaster

  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • Krmpf Krmpf Studios
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2009, 05:08:44 PM »
very nice work done here - thank you!!

but: wouldn't it be more logical if the selecting of the direction would happen if you actually build the building? so clicking on the menu item for building, an then with ctrl holded the place where you want to build it... this way seems more intuitive to me

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4582
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2009, 07:40:08 PM »
but: wouldn't it be more logical if the selecting of the direction would happen if you actually build the building? so clicking on the menu item for building, an then with ctrl holded the place where you want to build it... this way seems more intuitive to me

the ctrl-key is already used to select the upper level on a tile (aka building on a bridge vs building on ground).

Offline blitzmaster

  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • Krmpf Krmpf Studios
Re: [patch] Select direction of station buildings
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2009, 08:22:20 PM »
okay, but what about uhsing the shift key in this case?  ;) :D