The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Map sizes for experimentals.  (Read 3403 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Moe Ron

  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Languages: EN
Map sizes for experimentals.
« on: August 30, 2013, 03:56:55 AM »
I can't seem to expand or create maps past 512x512, does 128brit's experimental have a set limit, or is there some other issue?

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 07:24:58 AM »
If the same as standard then the limit is 4096x4096 for square maps (maps can be longer than this if they are narrower).

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1614
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 07:40:13 AM »
I remembered a thread some time ago where someone claimed that the map size limit was 2^25 (i.e. 33.5m tiles, and ~5792*5792) rather than 2^24 (4096*4096) as sometimes mentioned. But I can't find the thread.

Edit: found it, and it was kieron :)

http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=10187.msg99682#msg99682
« Last Edit: August 30, 2013, 08:11:08 AM by Carl »

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2013, 11:50:12 AM »
Nothing like contradicting myself is there... :p anyway you should certainly be able to run larger than 512x512 unless your computer is over 10 years old. Even then simutrans won't stop you speed will just be very slow.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2013, 07:24:52 PM »
make sure you haven't combined standard and experimental into the same folder.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2013, 01:48:39 AM »
What happens when you try to create larger maps?

Offline Moe Ron

  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2013, 08:08:18 AM »
What happens when you try to create larger maps?

Simutrans would usually stop responding.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5555
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2013, 08:28:38 AM »
Simutrans would usually stop responding.

For how long? It does take some time creating a map, and the bigger the map, the longer it takes.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2013, 08:30:42 AM »
Stops responding during map creation? If you have cities, roads connecting cities, factories, attractions and rivers all being generated on map load then be prepared for it to take a little while to generate a map - particularly if you have set roughness to a high value. A while can be 10 minutes or more. For maximum size maps I'd wait at least an hour...

Offline Moe Ron

  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2013, 05:54:09 PM »
Stops responding during map creation? If you have cities, roads connecting cities, factories, attractions and rivers all being generated on map load then be prepared for it to take a little while to generate a map - particularly if you have set roughness to a high value. A while can be 10 minutes or more. For maximum size maps I'd wait at least an hour...
For how long? It does take some time creating a map, and the bigger the map, the longer it takes.

I usually give it around 20-30 minutes max, then restart the operation in a different window with minor changes.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2013, 06:05:07 PM »
What are your computer specifications, and what are all your map creation settings?

Offline waerth

  • *
  • Posts: 151
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2013, 10:17:28 PM »
Max size map is about 50 minutes on my computer. With 2000 towns. Max nr of rivers with max length. But it is worth the wait!

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2013, 10:27:49 PM »
50 minutes to generate, or 50 minutes to cross from one side to the other by (non-supersonic) aircraft?

Offline waerth

  • *
  • Posts: 151
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2013, 10:28:43 PM »
To generate off course :)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2013, 10:39:38 PM »
Goodness me.

Offline waerth

  • *
  • Posts: 151
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2013, 10:43:07 PM »
If you switch of trees it will be a lot shorter. The trees seem to take the longest.
And once it is generated it loads quite fast from a save.

I currently have 4 huge generated maps as "blank" saves (nothing build on them networkwise). If you are interested I can upload them all but it would take me about 2 hours. Your other save is coming btw still 30 more minutes :(

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18753
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2013, 10:47:39 PM »
I shall look forward!

This suggests that there is some work to be done somewhere in optimising trees. I think that Standard developers have discussed it in the past, but nothing came of it.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Map sizes for experimentals.
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2013, 10:58:31 PM »
Trees aren't the main problem. Although they do hugely increase memory consumption (on my computer maps of 16.7M tiles will generate without trees, but with them simutrans just crashes....).

River, industry, towns and road generation all slow map generation down significantly.