The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads  (Read 2678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pwhk

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Languages: ZH, EN
Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« on: September 28, 2013, 05:15:01 AM »
I am not sure if this is pakset issue or program issue. This does not happen on my Standard + pak64.

Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads, blocking the roads. However, the road beneath it is still passable and vehicles will pass through the bridges...




Offline Sarlock

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1340
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2013, 06:00:42 AM »
It's just what happens with any bridge graphic that has supports under it.  It happens with the highway bridge in pak64 as well, just not the earlier ones because they don't have supports underneath them.
It would require checking what was under the bridge before drawing a support and I suspect that it's not an easy thing to accomplish programming-wise.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18721
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2013, 11:09:57 AM »
Sarlock is right - this is not specific to Pak128.Britain-Ex, or to Simutrans-Experimental. I shall move this to the extension requests board, as this would require a substantial new feature.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2013, 07:32:42 PM »
Very complex this. Some bridges have pillars integrated into the structure so would look strange with some missing.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5534
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2013, 09:37:53 PM »
I think this is related the other problem of buildings and trees passing through bridges, just horizontally instead of vertically. The solution must in some way be that bridges actually take up space. Pillars must in some way mark the underlying terrain as in some way occupied. Depending on the type of pillar, either the entire tile is occupied or the tile becomes "unconnected" from its neighbor on the other side of the pillar. If a way already connects the two tiles when the bridge is attempted built, the bridge building operation must fail.

This does however make bridge building more complicated, and to actually be able to build a bridge with these contraints. If one can't remove the existing obstacles to the pillars, one would have to use pillarless bridge. These bridges would have limited spans, and also likely be more expensive. A long bridge would therefore have to be made up of several distinct bridge types, something that isn't currently possible, but ties into the request of being able to build bridges tile by tile just like tunnels.

Offline pwhk

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Languages: ZH, EN
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2013, 04:58:53 AM »
I wonder if, in this case, have bridges be drawn like this

http://goo.gl/maps/ZqAo7 (If anyone wonder, this is Tsing Fung Street Flyover in Hong Kong)

Offline Sarlock

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1340
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2013, 06:46:43 AM »
Some elevated (and bridges) ways are drawn using that style so that they straddle the road beneath.  Others have their main supports right in the middle and would sit in the middle of a road underneath (graphically, it is still functional as a roadway).

It's really a pakset designer decision.  It seems you are using pak.Britain, in which case use the elevated ways that have separated supports to build your bridges over roads.

« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 06:54:47 AM by Sarlock »

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2900
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2013, 01:40:57 AM »
You can use remove tool to destroy the pillar too. I do it whenever this glitch shows.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5534
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2013, 04:38:28 AM »
You can use remove tool to destroy the pillar too. I do it whenever this glitch shows.

That can easily lead to another "glitch".

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Bridge Standings, apparently, are build directly on the roads
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2013, 07:25:16 AM »
and the bridge dat file should be able to specify if certain pillars are or are not removable (e.g. arch bridges).