The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)  (Read 14780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (exits). I have seen it done before, in my humble opinion, in real life (but never actually seen it where I live now).

It can also be used for when you don't have enough space to place things (for example tunnels joining two tunnel entrances/exits when very near sea level, while letting ships to pass underneath the bridge). In my humble opinion one solution would be the ability for trains to enter into a tunnel through a vertical face - not just necessarily through a sloping tile. This could improve on how this might work (with the bridges, as well, and/or maybe not with the bridges). In my own humble opinion...

What about it? Would this be possible? :-\

EDIT: Also maybe for roads and maglevs, etc...
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 01:43:11 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline Casteele

  • *
  • Posts: 16
You mean like this?

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
No.

Please make the tunnel a little lower. :)

EDIT: Also try to make it a bit like there is not much space to place a bridge, for example.

Offline The Hood

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
If the tunnel was lower it would be at sea level and therefore flooded in the game!!!  I'm not sure what you are asking for in game terms - maybe you could post a screenshot of the land layout you mean?

Offline Lodovico

  • *
  • Posts: 80
Oh not:

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Yes, but I was talking about over the water and not underwater. :)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 05:03:14 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline Lodovico

  • *
  • Posts: 80
Quite ugly:

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline gauthier

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3628
    • SNFOS'website (in both FR and EN)
  • Languages: FR, EN, JP
According to me he was talking about this :

Offline z9999

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 848
It's the surface of the sea.


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
It's the surface of the sea.


Thank you all for you help. :)

Thanks z9999. :)
??? How, may I ask, did you do that, and how do you make it in pak128? :-\
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 05:10:21 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline gauthier

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3628
    • SNFOS'website (in both FR and EN)
  • Languages: FR, EN, JP
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2009, 05:13:34 PM »
it's ... not very realistic ...

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2009, 05:20:02 PM »
I know, thanks for reminding me, gauthier. :)

It should be over the water to let ships pass through, shouldn't it? ... starting at the tunnel entrance... :)

Offline Casteele

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2009, 05:21:33 PM »
I'm still not understanding what the OP wants..

A tunnel entrance/exit at sea level, then a bridge that rises above sea level to allow ships under?

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2009, 05:24:18 PM »
Yes, all on one level. :)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 05:32:23 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline Casteele

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2009, 05:32:35 PM »
Like this, only at sea level?

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2009, 05:34:35 PM »
Thanks. :)

That's exactly what I intended to say. :)

Offline Casteele

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2009, 05:43:22 PM »
OK :)  The first tile under the bridge needs to be a land tile with a pathway (if I delete the bridge, that tile reverts to the pathway, road or rail, accordingly). What you want to do is enable the game to build a pathway one tile into water, so you can start a bridge (without all the ugliness that raising land/creating artificial slopes causes).

I think that would be very nice to have.. allowing bridges at the waters edge to start rising _into_ the water instead of forcing a slope before the water. But I cannot see it being added: Tiles at sea level are always water, while land is one level above sea level. The only time you'll have the situation of building a bridge at the waters edge then, is when you have a tunnel at the edge, because you'll _always_ have a slope at the edge, never a flat land tile. :(

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2009, 05:48:17 PM »
I think that would be very nice to have..
Thank you for you understanding, Casteele. :)
But I cannot see it being added...
Ahh... :( thanks, anyway. I guess this is all that can be done, then. :-\

EDIT:
... a flat land tile...
Or a slope or a flat sea tile... :)

« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 06:09:41 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline Casteele

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2009, 06:08:11 PM »
Not necessarily.. I cannot see the ability being added to the game engine itself.. but I might be able to figure out a work-around based on an idea from another post: If we could temporarily lower the sea level, build the pathway/bridge, then raise the sea level back up, the game engine should happily draw it correctly. Of course, I am assuming a lot about how the game engine operates.. if it just draws the tiles and graphics according to what the map says is there, without any checking for sea level, etc, it can be done.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2009, 06:14:26 PM »
... If we could temporarily lower the sea level, build the pathway/bridge, then raise the sea level back up, the game engine should happily draw it correctly. Of course, I am assuming a lot about how the game engine operates.. if it just draws the tiles and graphics according to what the map says is there, without any checking for sea level, etc, it can be done.

Ok, with some tools added in the tools menu, I pressume. :-\

You mean like raising and lowering sea and/or land level like in my http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=1103.0 extension request. :) Is it possible?... :-\


« Last Edit: January 18, 2009, 06:18:01 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2009, 06:31:34 PM »
I think the idea of being able to exist a tunnel through a sheer/vertical face has merit, though. Can think of several in-game cases where this would have been very useful in constrained locations. It would enable a bridge to be built crossing the line immediately outside the tunnel - which I've wanted to do several times. The sloped tunnel-exit tile takes up space!

Don't know whether it runs contrary to the way the game is programmed though.

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2009, 06:35:52 PM »
I think the idea of being able to exist a tunnel through a sheer/vertical face has merit, though. Can think of several in-game cases where this would have been very useful in constrained locations. It would enable a bridge to be built crossing the line immediately outside the tunnel - which I've wanted to do several times. The sloped tunnel-exit tile takes up space!

Don't know whether it runs contrary to the way the game is programmed though.

Thank you all for your responses. :)

Thanks for your support, AP. :)

Offline Casteele

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2009, 06:44:49 PM »
Ok, with some tools added in the tools menu, I pressume. :-\

You mean like raising and lowering sea and/or land level like in my http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=1103.0 extension request. :) Is it possible?... :-\
That was the post I was thinking about. ;)

I do not know about adding a tool the the game menus.. although it would be nice! I was more thinking about modifying the savegame file to set the sealevel one level lower, making your bridge, then editing the savegame again to restore the sea level. It would depend mostly on how hard the game engine would be to add sea level changes.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9561
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2009, 11:41:50 PM »
You can already do it. See attachment.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2009, 02:06:35 PM »
Thanks, again, Casteele. :)

prissi, where is the sea and/or river, underneath the bridge, if you don't mind me asking? :-\
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 04:50:45 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2009, 04:28:47 PM »
Well, choose your favourite?

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2009, 04:48:30 PM »
Well, choose your favourite?

Thank you for your help, VS. :)

But what I actually meant is this... How would you place a bridge between those two? :-\ (Sorry, I would show you my real map now, but it takes a long time to load :o , if the game doesn't crash while loading first :( )
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 05:00:49 PM by emaxectranspoorte »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2009, 04:59:37 PM »
I see... well, how about an thinking out of the box solution :D

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2009, 05:03:56 PM »
But that's considered as an underwater tunnel, isn't it? :-\


Offline gerw

  • Coder/patcher
  • *
  • Posts: 618
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2009, 05:21:23 PM »
It's the panama canal ;)

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #30 on: January 19, 2009, 05:31:12 PM »
It's the panama canal ;)

 ??? I didn't know the panama canal includes train tunnels, as well? ;)

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #31 on: January 19, 2009, 05:33:54 PM »
You want something that is not possible (at the moment at least) so you are given some choices how to do it otherwise...

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #32 on: January 19, 2009, 05:40:11 PM »
  ??? :) Ok, why didn't you tell me that in the first place? ... :-\

EDIT: So which one would be the best to choose (for now) in your opinion? :-\

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #33 on: January 19, 2009, 05:50:42 PM »
Oh! I guess everyone assumed you knew.

Factors:
1) money
2) space
3) aesthetics
4) other

If the distance is great, I would go upwards and on "normal" bridge. If it is short and on high speed line, the "tunnel covered with canal" could be best. What Lodovico showed is also bugless and small...

Offline emaxectranspoorte

  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • GOD BLESS AUSTRALIA
Re: Placing bridges at the start and end of tunnels (around / in tunnel exits)
« Reply #34 on: January 19, 2009, 06:42:14 PM »
Oh! I guess everyone assumed you knew.
Factors:
1) money
2) space
3) aesthetics
4) other
Yes, I did know something about that. :) But that's not exactly what I was reffering to VS. I was refering mostly to you other jpg posts before. BTW, could you also include some tunnels, before and after the river and/or sea bridge, if possible and/or doesn't upset in any way? :-\ So I can make a better choice (for now). :)
If the distance is great, I would go upwards and on "normal" bridge. If it is short and on high speed line, the "tunnel covered with canal" could be best. What Lodovico showed is also bugless and small...

Thank you for your help. :)