The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Question about cargo and multi-stop itinaries  (Read 1436 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jando

  • *
  • Posts: 500
Question about cargo and multi-stop itinaries
« on: December 19, 2013, 11:42:46 AM »
Hello, sorry to bother again.

I 've got a line (2 trains with a capacity of 176 tons each on it) running A-B-C-D-A, purpose is to distribute piece goods (fruit, hardware, flour, etc.) from a regional freight hub to towns in the region. Trains are empty on the return leg from D to A. Goods arrive at the freight hub by sea (clipper).

What I notice is that trains always try to carry cargo for the first stop B first, only when there's not enough cargo to fill the trains with cargo for B they will carry cargo for stop C, only after they've brought all the cargo available to stop C they will ever take cargo for stop D. That behaviour causes a very uneven distribution of goods in the region.

Intended or unintended behaviour? :)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18739
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Question about cargo and multi-stop itinaries
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2013, 11:49:34 AM »
This is intended, and I think is the same as in Standard. The solution is to ensure that your trains have enough capacity to take the flour to all destinations, I think, unless you can think of anything more sophisticated (that will work equally well for all types of goods as well as mail and passengers).

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18739
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Question about cargo and multi-stop itinaries
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2013, 09:51:13 PM »
Hmm, I have been considering this further. Experimental has a system for logging arrival times, and it seems sensible for goods/mail/passengers to be loaded on vehicles in the order that they arrived at a stop: I have now implemented this on the 11.x branch. I should be grateful for any feedback on this system.

Offline Jando

  • *
  • Posts: 500
Re: Question about cargo and multi-stop itinaries
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2013, 10:44:10 PM »
Sounds great, James! Makes sense to me. Goods that arrive first get on the train first.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18739
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Question about cargo and multi-stop itinaries
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2013, 12:00:34 AM »
Implemented in 11.14.