The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Rivers for pak128  (Read 28837 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9565
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #35 on: February 12, 2009, 03:28:23 PM »
Very nice. WHy no completely frozen in winter for the smallest?

(I wish somebody would make nice rivers like those for pak64 ... )

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #36 on: February 12, 2009, 03:32:26 PM »
Could we put it in the official PAK128?

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #37 on: February 12, 2009, 03:44:39 PM »
IMHO, some of them are too sinuous, with a lot of curves, specially narrow ones (see last three images). However, the frozen ones are simply cool...I'll take a look at the sources to see if I can do some tests for a possible pak64 version. Are they animated?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2009, 04:13:16 PM »
Thank you all

WHy no completely frozen in winter for the smallest?
This was my first choice, but they almost disappeared and i was unpleased. But it would be very easy to make them freeze, if requested ;)

IMHO, some of them are too sinuous, with a lot of curves, specially narrow ones
streams are intended to be like this. they are much better when they don't go in a straight line, though...

Are they animated?
no is it possible to make animated ways? How? i would be VERY interested...

I'll take a look at the sources to see if I can do some tests for a possible pak64 version.
Would you like the GIMP source as well? it's multilayer, it could help you...

Could we put it in the official PAK128?
This is what i hope, ihihihihihihih 8)

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #39 on: February 12, 2009, 04:40:14 PM »
streams are intended to be like this. they are much better when they don't go in a straight line, though...

Well, I'm not telling they must be straight, but less curved. Sometimes look like blue skinny snakes.. :)

no is it possible to make animated ways? How? i would be VERY interested...

...I didn't know they were coded as ways. In that case, I'm afraid it's not possible....yet.

Would you like the GIMP source as well? it's multilayer, it could help you...

As you prefer, could you please upload them in graphics.simutrans.com?

zengrath

  • Guest
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #40 on: February 12, 2009, 06:00:45 PM »
This is very cool, good job. I just started playing again and downloaded latest nightly and the rivers was first thing i noticed.

Very cool :)

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #41 on: February 12, 2009, 07:02:26 PM »
Can you send me the GIMP source for pak96.comic too?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #42 on: February 12, 2009, 07:46:15 PM »
As you prefer, could you please upload them in graphics.simutrans.com?
Can you send me the GIMP source for pak96.comic too?

Here you have!
River.zip ~1MB UPDATED

layers select river and select back use simple colours (blue and grey), you can scale them and use whatever texture you like better.
there is also a shadows layer. If you use them, please, credit me.
(I forgot to credit MHz for pak64 rivers, as i used part of its image for the sources, and the author of groundobjects, from where i took the rocks used in rapids).
Enjoy it!

(the link will work when upload is ended...)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 06:29:38 AM by fabio »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #43 on: February 12, 2009, 07:58:15 PM »
Looking very impressive!

Offline PatrickN

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 90
    • Patrick's Creations
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #44 on: February 12, 2009, 08:00:55 PM »
Oh...my...goodness!

I am looking forward to my interest in simutrans returning this summer. :)

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #45 on: February 12, 2009, 08:06:41 PM »
Thank you. I will it use as a template. This grafics are wonderfull.

But next time you can make a zip. That will be only 1MB. So you have not so a big upload.

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4601
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #46 on: February 12, 2009, 08:16:11 PM »
good work ! I like these rivers.

Offline Frank

  • Inactive/Retired
  • *
  • Posts: 1431
  • Languages: DE
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #47 on: February 12, 2009, 08:45:31 PM »
...
and here the paks to test:
river_2_0_src.zip
...

oh, paks for self create  ;)

pleace changed to pak file zip

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #48 on: February 13, 2009, 06:31:04 AM »
But next time you can make a zip. That will be only 1MB. So you have not so a big upload.
pleace changed to pak file zip

Done both, i'm sorry for the inconvenience.

And thank you all for your feedback

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #49 on: February 13, 2009, 11:51:24 AM »
Ok, they are in next nightly!

Offline Mac_#71

  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Chuck Norris approves Simutrans!!
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #50 on: February 15, 2009, 01:32:36 PM »
I apologize, but I downloaded the pak for the rivers and I put them in / pak128, I edited simuconf.tab but does not create the rivers!
I have sim-wingdi 102 r2325, help!

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #51 on: February 15, 2009, 04:42:49 PM »
nevermind the download, the latest nighlies have them by default

Offline Silver

  • *
  • Posts: 596
  • ***Strategy and Success***
    • Simutrans-Hispano
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #52 on: February 16, 2009, 05:32:34 PM »
I do not see any the river and i got the latest update of nightly

Code: [Select]
# now river stuff
# first river type (should be defined in pak dependent file)
# The highest number is the smallest. A river with max_speed==0 is not navigavable by ships.
#river_type[0] = river
#river_type[1] = small_river
#river_type[2] = just_the source

# river number (16 gives a few nicely branched rivers)
#river_number = 16

# min length
#river_min_length = 16

# max length
#river_max_length = 320

Any error in the code?
Why not work?

I try this but not working!
Code: [Select]
# now river stuff
# first river type (should be defined in pak dependent file)
# The highest number is the smallest. A river with max_speed==0 is not navigavable by ships.
river_type[0] = river
river_type[1] = small_river
river_type[2] = just_the source

# river number (16 gives a few nicely branched rivers)
river_number = 16

# min length
river_min_length = 16

# max length
river_max_length = 320
« Last Edit: February 16, 2009, 05:48:06 PM by Silver »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #53 on: February 16, 2009, 07:41:50 PM »
"latest" nightly of pak is now 458, same version where is the last change making rivers really work. I downloaded it from the page and used in game. Works nice.

Maybe you are missing also program nightly and using 101.0 ?

Offline Silver

  • *
  • Posts: 596
  • ***Strategy and Success***
    • Simutrans-Hispano
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #54 on: February 16, 2009, 09:52:11 PM »
I use this program and if the 101.0 but does not work

I do not see the river
« Last Edit: February 16, 2009, 09:56:48 PM by Silver »

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #55 on: February 16, 2009, 10:02:49 PM »
Use a newer version than the 101. See at the nightly-Page

Offline Silver

  • *
  • Posts: 596
  • ***Strategy and Success***
    • Simutrans-Hispano
Re: Rivers for pak128
« Reply #56 on: February 16, 2009, 11:00:49 PM »
o.k.
I download this:

Windows/SDL Version: 102-2325
with the PAK128 Version: 458

O.K.  :award: work!!!!