News:

Simutrans Chat Room
Where cool people of Simutrans can meet up.

New to simutrans, how to increase spawn rate of custom factory

Started by FatesChoice, August 10, 2015, 09:03:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FatesChoice

Hello, I am new to Simutrans. I wanted to see if I could successfully create a factory to use in the game so I made a .dat file and used makeobj to create the .pak file and put that into the PAK folder. I know the factory is in the game because one time out of luck it spawned when I created a new game, however 90% of the time I am just getting incinerators and coal power stations when the game starts. In the .dat file I specified for it to spawn in January, 1920 but yet it almost never appears. Also, I messed around with the DistributionWeight setting in the .dat file because the wiki says the higher the number the more likely it is to appear, with a max number of 127. It still isn't showing up with 127 DistributionWeight however. I have only seen my factory in game once, I know the game still recognizes its existence though because it shows up in the industry list when I de-select the "show only used" button. Basically I really want to test my custom factory, so I need it to spawn consistently, how can I do this? For example the Incinerator seems to spawn 100% of the time in all new games I make, how can I make my custom factory spawn that much? Thanks

Vladki

I really do not know how to make it spawn more often. But you can switch to public player and build the factory (or whole chain) by yourself.

TurfIt

DistributionWeight max value is 65535, not 127...
You don't mention which pak is being added to, but most factories in pak64 have a weight of 100, so you'd want much greater to ensure your factory spawns regularly.

Ters

Quote from: Vladki on August 10, 2015, 09:19:08 PM
But you can switch to public player and build the factory (or whole chain) by yourself.