Author Topic: FATAL ERROR Message on Start  (Read 10585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wayway00

FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« on: March 02, 2009, 09:25:15 PM »
Whenever I start simutrans with pak64 it gives me a FATAL ERROR message:
Code: [Select]
FATAL ERROR: alles_gelladen()
12skin_besch_t-object Seasons not found.
*** PLEASE INSTALL PROPER BASE FILE AND CHECK PATH ***
PRESS ANY KEY
As far as I can tell I need an extra file? This error does not come up when I start pak128. I tried redownloading simutrans and pak64. Please help.

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 09:42:00 PM »
Which version of Simutrans are you using?

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2009, 11:55:10 PM »
Version 101.0

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2009, 08:02:34 AM »
and which pak64 version? Seems it misses some objects so I guess you're using an old version of pak64, am I right?
« Last Edit: March 03, 2009, 08:16:27 AM by vilvoh »

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2009, 11:45:19 AM »
pak64 version 101.0 also

Offline Combuijs

  • Web Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1387
  • Total likes: 22
  • Helpful: 53
  • Maintainer of maps.simutrans.com
    • Combuijs
  • Languages: EN, NL
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2009, 12:56:59 PM »
After some tests I found that this error pops up if the file "symbol.seasons.pak" can't be found. So please check if this file exists in the pak (or pak64) directory. If it does exist it may be corrupt. Best advice: delete the complete pak directory of pak64 and redownload it completely. It should work then.
Bob Marley: No woman, no cry

Programmer: No user, no bugs



Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2009, 02:20:21 AM »
I looked in the pak folder and symbol.seasons.pak was there.??? I deleted the pak folder and redownloaded it and now it just quits without any message.

Offline whoami

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2009, 06:15:00 PM »
Which download link(s) did you use for Pak64?
Which operating system (including version, variant and language) do you use?

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2009, 01:22:34 AM »
I used the sourceforge.net link
I use Windows XP Home SP3 inside Parallels Desktop 4 on Mac OS X

EDIT: I installed simutrans on a flash drive and tried it on another computer with pak64 and it worked. but then I tried it on my computer and came up with the same error as before.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 02:27:58 AM by wayway00 »

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4251
  • Total likes: 177
  • Helpful: 149
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2009, 06:08:14 AM »
The pak.xxx/ directory is in the same directory as the simutrans executable?
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and maggikraut.

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2009, 08:49:36 AM »
Silly question: why are you playing Simutrans in a virtual machine, if there's a Mac OS version?

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2009, 03:55:00 PM »
From what I saw the Mac OS X version is not as stable and is only for PowerPC, as I have an Intel Mac.

EDIT: Ok, I have found an Intel Mac Version here http://archive.forum.simutrans.com/topic/03145.0/index.html but it is only for v99.09.2. I would like to play the latest version if possible.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 03:59:48 PM by wayway00 »

Offline whoami

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2009, 04:30:31 PM »
Please check http://www.aleopardstail.com/simutrans/Simutrans.html - it offers a "universal binary" of ST 100.01 for Macs.

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2009, 08:08:41 PM »
It does not seem to work.

Offline whoami

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2009, 08:24:02 PM »
Same error as before? I forgot to note that you probably need another version of the Pak64 archive - 100.01 instead of 101.x.

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2009, 08:41:00 PM »
No, Mac says "Simutrans has quit unexpectedly".

Offline whoami

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2009, 08:03:11 PM »
From what I saw the Mac OS X version is not as stable and is only for PowerPC, as I have an Intel Mac.
I just noticed: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=196471&package_id=232197 offers official binaries for Mac OS on PPC and Intel, the latest are for 100.0 - the binaries for newer versions may be added later.

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2009, 11:41:19 PM »
Ok, I ran the application and a terminal window opens and says this
Code: [Select]
Last login: Fri Mar 13 19:34:52 on ttys000
*****-MacBook-Pro:~ user$ /Applications/simutrans/simutrans ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libSDL-1.2.0.dylib
  Referenced from: /Applications/simutrans/simutrans
  Reason: image not found
Trace/BPT trap
logout

[Process completed]

The asterisks are my name

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2009, 12:50:45 PM »
Seems you don't have libSDL installed, or at least not properly installed.

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline wayway00

Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2009, 06:09:06 PM »
I installed sdl in /Library/Frameworks.
Thats where it says it needs to go on the sdl website

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2009, 08:04:05 PM »
May seem a silly question but, are you really sure you've installed it? I say it because I found this in the archive (link)

Quote
If you recieve the error:
Code:
dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libSDL-1.2.0.dylib
  Referenced from: /Applications/Sim Trains/simutrans/sim
  Reason: image not found

You do not have SDL installed, and you'll need to install it to run the game, to install SDL:

The solution is in the same place.

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8823
  • Total likes: 323
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: FATAL ERROR Message on Start
« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2009, 10:37:22 PM »
Actually, it seems to got to /System/Library/Framework/... albeit I am not a MAC expert.