The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world  (Read 2625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world
« on: March 08, 2009, 01:41:25 PM »
Yes I know, Simutrans is a transport simulation. Nevertheless, I whould write down my idea.

I think it would be nice to drive with a citycar through the simutrans-world.

That must not be very different to the citycarsystem now. I should only be a citycar which I can control.
This car should only do 4 things.

1. Drive, if I say drive.
2. Stop when I stop
3. Make a left turn at next junction
4. Make a right turn at next junction

It should only drive at the a street. On a end of a street it should be turn around like a citycar.

I've heard it's a lot of work to make a interface for it. How many work is it?

What do you think about?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 07:38:43 PM »
This could be extended also to busses, trains, ships, planes... (obviously, you would need to respect the schedule, but this is another issue!!!).
Idea for the GUI: something like the follow me button in the info window, switching to "drive me" mode would change the behaviour of arrow keys: up > start/accelerate, down > brake/stop, right > turn right, left > turn left. If the vehicle is a player vehicle, a schedule window will be displayed, colouring in red the next station you have to stop at. Esc or another key would just return to normal mode.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9566
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 08:48:16 PM »
I once made a version like this. It is not in the trunk but worked via keys you could sent to a citycar via the info window ... However, this is not longer compatible with the code any more.

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 08:56:54 PM »
Mayby anyone can make it compitable again. Or not?

Offline ij

  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2009, 07:35:02 PM »
...This would be easily extendable to one-man taxi service too. :-)

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Drive with a citycar through the simutrans world
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2009, 08:49:22 AM »
Whould it be easier to code, if there are only 2 key-contorls for the player?

1. Turn left next junction
2. Turn right next junction

Have anybody interesset to make this working?