The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Modern Vehicles  (Read 59213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #175 on: January 22, 2020, 03:44:30 PM »
You need to make all the layers visible before rendering.

Cheers!

How do you make all layer visible? What do you press etc in the layers toggle?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2020, 03:40:45 AM by Isaac.Eiland-Hall »

Offline Rollmaterial fi

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 593
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #176 on: January 22, 2020, 05:09:26 PM »

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #177 on: January 22, 2020, 10:50:04 PM »
I have explained it here: https://forum.simutrans.com/index.php/topic,17535.msg167037.html#msg167037

I've gone ahead and done the Class 320 but there's a problem with the MSO colliding with the DTSO as seen in this screenshot.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2020, 04:52:51 PM by ScotRail170434 »

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #178 on: February 13, 2020, 08:27:36 PM »
Trying to add to the livery choice for the 303 “Strathclyde” and it doesn’t show up when I select the Strathclyde option, any reason why?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 19350
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #179 on: February 13, 2020, 10:53:57 PM »
Not without more detailed information, I am afraid.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #180 on: February 13, 2020, 11:53:54 PM »
I’ve sorted it anyways, just a slight error when updating the DAT.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #181 on: February 17, 2020, 09:12:00 PM »
I’m running into an issue when making custom vehicles for my routes:

* I paint the vehicles in Blender correctly and render the PNG images.

* I enter the PNG images into the DAT files and add the livery choice.

- My rail vehicles either collide with each other or are positioned offset to the track depending on what it is.

- One of the carriages of the Class 303s in Strathclyde Orange and Crimson/Cream collide with the PMSO.

- The same issue persists with the Class 320 and carriages have a gap when running in multiple.

- The Class 156 in SPT sits offset to the track

Any reason why this happens, I’ll enclose images of the issues presented.

Offline Freahk

  • *
  • Posts: 632
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #182 on: February 17, 2020, 09:20:22 PM »
There are two likely possible reasons:
1. your render setup is wrong. The camara position relative to your vehicles position is wrong.
2. Your dat files specify an offset.

Sadly I don't know the default render setup, thus cannot assist you in the first point.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 19350
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #183 on: February 17, 2020, 09:22:15 PM »
Can I check that you are rendering the vehicles in vehicle mode rather than normal mode in the rendering script?

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #184 on: February 17, 2020, 09:29:03 PM »
Can I check that you are rendering the vehicles in vehicle mode rather than normal mode in the rendering script?

Yes, I’ll pull up blender.

Edit - I’ve found the selector for “Vehicle mode” that should fix it. But the carriages are still “colliding” with each other
« Last Edit: February 18, 2020, 01:44:38 AM by ScotRail170434 »

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #185 on: February 19, 2020, 10:47:38 PM »
Can anyone make the following models in these liveries as it’s required for a custom Scottish Map?

Class 318 (Saltire)
Class 334 (Saltire)
Class 320 (Saltire)
Class 158 (Barbie and Saltire)
Class 156 (Barbie and Saltire)

Thanks.

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #186 on: March 01, 2020, 09:41:56 PM »
These problems seem to persist with the Class 320, 303 and 156...

Any idea how to fix the carriages clashing and gaps? And they are rendered in Vehicle mode.

« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 09:58:56 PM by ScotRail170434 »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 19350
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #187 on: March 04, 2020, 10:23:50 AM »
Are you making sure that the carriages are correctly aligned in Blender? They should be four squares (Blender units) from the 0,0,0 centre point towards the front. The easiest way to check this is to use orthographic mode (numpad 5) and side view (numpad 3).

Offline ScotRail170434

  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #188 on: March 06, 2020, 08:55:47 PM »
Are you making sure that the carriages are correctly aligned in Blender? They should be four squares (Blender units) from the 0,0,0 centre point towards the front. The easiest way to check this is to use orthographic mode (numpad 5) and side view (numpad 3).

How do you know exactly when the vehicles are in position? And what should they be moved to?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 19350
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #189 on: March 07, 2020, 12:19:37 AM »
How do you know exactly when the vehicles are in position? And what should they be moved to?

The front of the vehicle should be on the fourth square forward of the centre point. You can tell that it is in the right position by comparing the front of the vehicle (excluding buffers) with the grid lines shown in Blender.

Offline Spenk009

  • *
  • Posts: 325
  • Languages: en, de
Re: Modern Vehicles
« Reply #190 on: March 07, 2020, 06:40:22 PM »
And don't forget the "length=X" parameter in the .dat file!