The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [ENDED GAME] Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)  (Read 135132 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Rollmaterial

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #210 on: April 26, 2018, 07:40:06 PM »
I am also trying to connect to server and I get Server did not respond.
It takes a little bit to restart. When you connect it will crash with an out of bounds error a few seconds in.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #211 on: April 26, 2018, 09:50:30 PM »
Can confirm, out of bounds crash. 27 not in range.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #212 on: April 27, 2018, 01:09:54 AM »
I have now fixed this - this should be working again from the next nightly build. Thank you very much for the reports, and apologies for the trouble.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #213 on: April 28, 2018, 05:17:35 AM »
Index out of bounds crash. Index 33 not in range 0...32. Seems to occur in ~1 minute after the game resumes. Appears to be crashing the server as well.

Also would it be possible to merge in the balance changes up to 1970?
« Last Edit: April 28, 2018, 09:01:59 AM by DrSuperGood »

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #214 on: April 29, 2018, 01:41:23 PM »
My apologies for the difficulties. I have now fixed the crash and incorporated your balancing changes up to 1870 and am running a manual recompile on the server now, so this should be working again shortly.

Offline nuhgl

  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Languages: EN, KR, SV
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #215 on: April 30, 2018, 07:48:41 PM »
Is server down?
I get no server response atm.

« Last Edit: May 01, 2018, 07:33:56 AM by nuhgl »

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #216 on: May 01, 2018, 10:56:50 PM »
The main server is not down, but the listing server is. Until the listing server is fixed, you can connect manually by opening the load game dialogue and typing, "net:bridgewater-brunel.me.uk".

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1820
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #217 on: May 01, 2018, 11:11:07 PM »
I have attempted to log onto the server multiple times both today and yesterday using the load savegame dialog, but without luck. It quite quickly returns the message "Could not connect to bridgewater-brunel.me.uk"

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #218 on: May 01, 2018, 11:41:04 PM »
Thank you for the report. There seems to have been a corrupt saved game. I have restored from the latest backup and am in the process of restarting now.

Offline nuhgl

  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Languages: EN, KR, SV
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #219 on: May 02, 2018, 04:59:03 AM »


I get revision mismatch on latest build?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #220 on: May 02, 2018, 12:03:36 PM »
You posted at just around the time that the rebuild would have been occurring, I think, so you might want to try updating your version and trying again.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1820
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #221 on: May 05, 2018, 11:33:49 PM »
Rollmaterial, now I got kicked and server seems unrespondable  :P
But now its possible to get in again!

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #222 on: May 08, 2018, 05:52:19 AM »
Something appears to have happened to the nightly build. Usually it is available at this time. Instead there is no hash file and the server appears down.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #223 on: May 08, 2018, 10:13:46 AM »
Thank you for letting me know. The update process seems to have been interrupted. I have re-run the update process manually, and this now seems to be working.

Online Rollmaterial

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #224 on: May 11, 2018, 04:00:41 PM »
Looks like the server is down.
Edit: Up and running again.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 04:12:51 PM by Rollmaterial »

Online Rollmaterial

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #225 on: May 13, 2018, 02:47:53 PM »
The server seems to be down again.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #226 on: May 13, 2018, 10:31:45 PM »
It seems to be running again now. Can anyone give any insight into the circumstances in which the server crashes so that I might be able to reproduce these circumstances?

Online Rollmaterial

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #227 on: May 13, 2018, 11:04:52 PM »
They happen when transferrìng the save during connection to the server aborts due to the connection breaking.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #228 on: May 14, 2018, 01:01:20 AM »
They happen when transferrìng the save during connection to the server aborts due to the connection breaking.

I am not sure that I fully understand - what do you mean when you refer to the server aborting due to the connexion breaking? If a client disconnects during a transfer, I do not think that that crashes the server.

Online Rollmaterial

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #229 on: May 14, 2018, 10:18:03 AM »
I was trying to connect to the server and during the transfer stage my internet access was interrupted, so my attempt to connect failed. Afterwards, the server remained unresponsive for sometimes over 30 minutes.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #230 on: May 14, 2018, 10:31:14 AM »
I was trying to connect to the server and during the transfer stage my internet access was interrupted, so my attempt to connect failed. Afterwards, the server remained unresponsive for sometimes over 30 minutes.

Can anyone confirm whether they have had any similar experiences? It may be that the server is waiting for the client and perhaps needs a shorter timeout set somewhere. Does anyone know whether this is any different with Standard?

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1820
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #231 on: May 31, 2018, 10:29:39 PM »
No I have not had that issue ever, but I generally dont have any issues with the internet.
However, the server appears to be down at the moment.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #232 on: May 31, 2018, 10:36:34 PM »
It appears to be unable to start, usually caused by an interruption during the build process.

I am now rebuilding the server manually, which involves using the latest code, which includes the OTRP which has now been incorporated. Once the rebuild has completed, you will need to update your version of the code and pakset to join the server.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2018, 10:52:47 PM by jamespetts »

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1820
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #233 on: May 31, 2018, 10:49:44 PM »
Nice!
Looking forward to try that feature!

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #234 on: May 31, 2018, 10:53:00 PM »
Excellent. The server should now be running again.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1820
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #235 on: June 04, 2018, 10:39:00 PM »
The servergame freezed and is now unjoinable, ie not responding.
edit: Running again!
« Last Edit: June 04, 2018, 11:29:58 PM by Ves »

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1089
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #236 on: June 06, 2018, 09:41:30 AM »
Ouch, looks like some bridges of Bay Transport were mothballed and interrupted most of the network.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #237 on: June 06, 2018, 11:22:09 AM »
Server game just froze at end of month (start of new month). Forcing the client to advance to that state also resulted in it freezing. Appears to be symptomatic of an infinite loop somewhere. Possibly the result of removing company assets as several of the abandoned companies are going in solvent. Do not know if it is recreateable at the moment.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #238 on: June 06, 2018, 12:13:48 PM »
I will not have time to look into this until this evening - I should be grateful for an update by then on whether it has resolved itself or not.

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1089
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #239 on: June 06, 2018, 03:32:28 PM »
Yeah, I can confirm that it freezes on month end (October > November), I saved the game locally and fixed some, but it doesn't seem necessarily related to the infrastructure. It still freezes and enters infinite loop.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #240 on: June 07, 2018, 08:23:36 AM »
It progressed beyond that point, however it then froze randomly mid month...

Can we make the autosave period every 15 minutes or so? I am losing a ton of progress on the server game as a result of these freezes...

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1089
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #241 on: June 07, 2018, 01:47:40 PM »
It reverted by 30-in game minutes after the server went unresponsive (saving the game and loading it result in a crash to desktop without error message or freeze).

Edit: Crashes now in November 1874 with index out of bounds error.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2018, 11:23:41 AM by Junna »

Offline Speedbus

  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #242 on: June 09, 2018, 05:29:33 AM »
Edit: Crashes now in November 1874 with index out of bounds error.

Confirmed, cf. attachment

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20720
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #243 on: June 09, 2018, 02:04:25 PM »
My apologies for the trouble: I have now fixed the index out of bounds error: this was related to the new overtaking features.

As to autosaving, it is set to autosave every 1 hour (if nobody has joined and caused an earlier load/save cycle more recently than an hour). I doubt that 15 minute interval autosaves will be practical, since it will excessively interrupt gameplay with long load/save cycles too frequently.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2836
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #244 on: June 10, 2018, 06:25:30 PM »
As the listing server is down at the moment it is a good time to mention how to join it without the listing server. In the multiplayer menu paste the following...

bridgewater-brunel.me.uk:13353

And hit search. If the server is running it will load details and you can join. Also apparently works from the save/load menu for some reason...

I suggest mentioning this in the opening post. It is hinted but I do not think that helps anyone who has not studied how networks work.