The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: How do I get industry to produce?  (Read 1269 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline accord2

  • *
  • Posts: 219
  • Languages: EN, PT
How do I get industry to produce?
« on: December 17, 2017, 05:55:11 PM »
I've tried this in all versions and nothing works good. I build a line between two industries but the starting point produces nothing! How does this work? Thanks in advance.

Offline accord2

  • *
  • Posts: 219
  • Languages: EN, PT
Re: How do I get industry to produce?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 05:59:02 PM »
So after trying, to transport coal I need a coal tower in station... But I still don't get it  ;D

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 17764
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: How do I get industry to produce?
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2017, 07:38:19 PM »
The answer depends on what sort of industry that it is and what you are connecting it to. An industry needs:

(1) (if applicable) sufficient supplies of input goods;
(2) (if applicable) demand from downstream industries (i.e., they are not full and do not have more than enough product already on its way); and
(3) enough staff (commuting passengers).

Additionally, in order to consume, consumer industries (other than power stations or those with a zero visitor demand) need visiting passengers.

Offline accord2

  • *
  • Posts: 219
  • Languages: EN, PT
Re: How do I get industry to produce?
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2017, 09:13:53 PM »

(3) enough staff (commuting passengers).

I can't "fix" this. It's 1880 and industries are too far away from towns... Any tips?

Offline zook2

  • *
  • Posts: 321
Re: How do I get industry to produce?
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2017, 09:30:33 PM »
- To transport any cargo, you need a station building on both ends that accepts/stores cargo (for the purpose of stations accepting stuff, there are only the three categories passengers, mail and cargo). It doesn't have to be a coal tower. For example, a cargo hold (I forgot the actual name) on a road next to a railway station will allow you to unload any cargo from trucks, but also trains.

The two industries must be linked, i.e. the actual consumer must show up in the list of linked industries at the producer (the companies that the coal mine "has a contract with").

Offline zook2

  • *
  • Posts: 321
Re: How do I get industry to produce?
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2017, 09:31:24 PM »
I can't "fix" this. It's 1880 and industries are too far away from towns... Any tips?

In that case you have to organize a new passenger route from a nearby town to the industry.