The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Signal showing a wrong aspect  (Read 2515 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Signal showing a wrong aspect
« on: February 14, 2018, 11:10:21 AM »
Hi James, this is an issue that I've noticed for quite a long time. This bug is that the signal before the choose signal does not clear up to a double yellow aspect (green for three aspect signals). Here is proof from a picture below.


Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2018, 11:36:38 AM »
Thank you for the report. Can you upload a saved game in which this issue can reliably be reproduced?

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2018, 03:52:16 PM »

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2018, 04:33:24 PM »
Has this bug been fixed?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2018, 10:21:08 PM »
Has this bug been fixed?

No - I have not got around to looking at it yet. I will be sure to post when it is fixed.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2018, 10:58:01 PM »
I think that I have now fixed this - I should be grateful if you could re-test with to-morrow's nightly build.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2018, 01:52:09 PM »
This bug has unfortunately not been fixed.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2018, 03:20:57 PM »
I am no longer able to reproduce it in the original location in the saved game supplied. Can you give more precise information as to the circumstances in which this now occurs? (And also, are you sure that you are running the latest version?)

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2018, 04:30:30 PM »
The signals still shows a single yellow aspect when it should really be green (three aspect signal) and double yellow (four aspect signal) and no I am not running the latest version and I am (at the time of post) downloading the latest version.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2018, 04:51:52 PM »
I still cannot reproduce this. When the game that you uploaded first loads, the signals retain their earlier incorrect appearance, but, on any new train approaching the station, the signals display correctly.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2018, 06:20:48 PM »
The issue with choose signals is fixed. Its now affecting non choose signals because non choose signals at junctions should not clear to a double yellow/green without the next signal clearing to either a double yellow/green aspects.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2018, 06:23:15 PM »
Does this occur reliably in the saved game that you uploaded? If so, I should be grateful if you could give me the co-ordinates of the signal(s) affected. If not, I should be grateful if you could upload a saved game in which this can reliably be reproduced at a specific location.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2018, 06:42:57 PM »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2018, 09:32:22 PM »
As requested above, what is the specific location in that saved game of the signal that demonstrates this behaviour?

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2018, 04:52:11 PM »
At this signal (611, 706)


Offline Spenk009

  • *
  • Posts: 251
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2018, 07:07:35 PM »
Can you rotate through the views to ensure this happens/is visible from all viewing angles? I'd just like to eliminate the pakset being at fault, making it look like the signal is displaying the wrong signal.

Offline Vladki cz

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2715
    • My addons, mostly roadsigns
  • Languages: EN, CS
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #16 on: February 26, 2018, 07:13:17 PM »
Also open the signal dialog and compare if the text representation of current aspect matches the visual appearance.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #17 on: February 26, 2018, 07:56:51 PM »
Rotated image same bracket


Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
[QUESTION] Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #18 on: March 02, 2018, 01:11:54 PM »
Has this bug been fixed?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #19 on: March 02, 2018, 06:35:13 PM »
I had not got around to looking into this until now, but unfortunately the link to the file appears to have expired. Would you be able to re-upload it? I should be grateful.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #21 on: March 02, 2018, 08:53:19 PM »
I am afraid that that does not work either - it gives me a "file not yet uploaded" error message.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
[NEW LINK] Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2018, 10:16:35 PM »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2018, 10:54:15 PM »
Thank you for that. I think that I have now fixed this - I should be grateful if you could test with the next nightly build.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #24 on: March 03, 2018, 09:57:27 AM »
Tested and this happens at signals before station platforms. I added captions above the signal to say what the aspect should really be. (Thats if the platform starting signal is a single yellow aspect)


Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #25 on: March 03, 2018, 11:57:06 AM »
This may be an entirely separate issue. Can you let me know the co-ordinates where this occurs on the saved game that you uploaded?

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #26 on: March 03, 2018, 12:40:41 PM »
This may be an entirely separate issue. Can you let me know the co-ordinates where this occurs on the saved game that you uploaded?

Coordinates: (754, 816) and (749, 832).

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2018, 01:05:21 PM »
Yes, I think that this is a separate issue, and one which I have looked into before, but which is exceedingly difficult to solve. The difficulty is that, when restarting from a station, the train does not remember its previous route, so cannot clear the automatic signals in rear.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Languages: EN
Re: Signal showing a wrong aspect
« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2018, 04:46:09 PM »
Okay.