The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [gui] haltdetail lineinfo update  (Read 679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hreintke

  • *
  • Posts: 168
[gui] haltdetail lineinfo update
« on: December 07, 2018, 04:00:44 PM »
Hi,

Attached are two patches which add some updates to the haltdetail window.
Based on the git master branch from today, dec7, 2018

1/ Add linetype to "Lines serving this stop".
The lines are split by linetype and sorted alphabetically
See attachment haltdetail.jpg

2/ Add lineinfo to "Lines serving this stop"
The lineinfo is extended with f.e. <2> (100,0) -> this line has two convoys and on this halt will load to 100%, no waiting time.
See attachment haltdetail2.jpg

Comments are welcome.


Offline THLeaderH jp

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 328
  • Languages: JP,EN
Re: [gui] haltdetail lineinfo update
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 11:49:25 AM »
First one is very nice. I support this patch 8)

Second one is good, but the meaning of format <**> (a, b) is not easily understood by players without any descriptions. Also, IMHO, line names can be seen so complicated with this feature. If the count of convoy, load condition, and waiting time are displayed in the halt detail line info, this should be able to be turned off by players to make line names simple.

As of the patch_lineinfo1.diff, please use uint32 or other integer types instead of raw int, at least for local variables.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9514
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [gui] haltdetail lineinfo update
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 03:38:20 PM »
But even with the same line the convois can have induvidual loading and time settings. So my favor goes rather to the linetypes.

Offline hreintke

  • *
  • Posts: 168
Re: [gui] haltdetail lineinfo update
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2018, 01:34:36 PM »
Did not know about the possibility to have convois with individual load/waiting settings, always made multiple lines with different characteristics.
Will use this feature from now on.
Like to update my personal patch to include that information, can you tell me where that information is kept/stored ?
Can't find it in simline or simconvoi

Made a new patch for the linetypes. Ints are replaced by uint16/sint16.



Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4587
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: [gui] haltdetail lineinfo update
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2018, 07:43:31 AM »
That information is in the schedule-entries of the individual convoys.

Offline hreintke

  • *
  • Posts: 168
Re: [gui] haltdetail lineinfo update
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2018, 11:29:00 AM »
Thanks, found the location in the convoi/schedule/schedule_entries.

Although you have to be careful to use this feature.
When updating the schedule (f.e. by adding a station) you loose the individual settings as they are replaced/removed by the line settings.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2018, 11:39:45 AM by hreintke »