The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable  (Read 648 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CK

  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Languages: NL, EN, FR
Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« on: January 24, 2020, 09:02:10 PM »
I have a map with heights above 33, but the cursor seemingly ignores parts of the map of which the height is above 33, as if they were located off-map. I can't find anything on these boards or in the help system on maximum heights, but it appears to be hardcoded. Cities above the limit do appear to function and look correctly.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 20776
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2020, 10:40:24 PM »
I believe that this may be the same in Standard; can anyone confirm?

Offline Ranran

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1510
  • Languages: ja
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2020, 11:38:30 AM »
I believe this has not changed from the standard. Because the OTRP patch claims to extend this limit to 64.

Online Freahk

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1504
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 11:25:27 AM »
Same goes for heights below -31

Offline Matthew

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 560
    • Japan Railway Journal
  • Languages: EN, some ZH, DE & SQ
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2020, 05:41:41 PM »
Last year I tried to make a spreadsheet that would normalize old-style PPMs into the new-style acceptable range of map values, but I didn't succeed yet. I guess that normalization of arbitrary maps to the new range would be another way to solve this problem.

Offline CK

  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Languages: NL, EN, FR
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2020, 04:18:07 PM »
I believe this has not changed from the standard. Because the OTRP patch claims to extend this limit to 64.
I vaguely recall reading that it was a limit in Standard (because of drawing issues, which don't seem to be evident), so I concur. Do you mean that the limit would go from 33 to 64?

Online Freahk

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1504
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2020, 06:20:03 PM »
I don't think we can go for -64.
The reason for this is indeed drawing.
Even -32 disapperas around the screen borders whilst still on screen.

I guess making this work properly would require a slightly different approch of what will be drawed, properly comsidering the height.

I would expect it to apply the same way for heights above 32, although I did not test that case.

Offline CK

  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Languages: NL, EN, FR
Re: Heights above 33 show up but are unselectable
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2020, 11:57:05 AM »
I don't think we can go for -64.
The reason for this is indeed drawing.
Even -32 disapperas around the screen borders whilst still on screen.

I guess making this work properly would require a slightly different approch of what will be drawed, properly comsidering the height.

I would expect it to apply the same way for heights above 32, although I did not test that case.
Heights above 32 appear properly, or at least the city traffic is doing so. The cursor offset which becomes evident at heights around 30 is probably the sole problem, although something major seems to have been changed between Standard and Extended because there is no maximum_height in settings.cc (or it's because I don't really understand diff files very well), so this patch probably won't apply