The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [online-install] NSIS Error  (Read 1095 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mishasama

  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • BE NICE
  • Languages: JA, ZH, EN
[online-install] NSIS Error
« on: February 29, 2020, 10:31:16 PM »
Error launching installer

OS: Windows 10 Edition 48 64-bit (Windows NT 10.0) build 17134
OS Language: Japanese
non-Unicode: Shift-JIS


Maybe you should update NSIS to the Unicode version.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10674
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2020, 07:45:58 AM »
I am using a Japanese Windows10 (build 18363) and it works for me. Maybe you have a Virus scanner that is overeager and blocks NSIS installer downloads. Some plugins I need have no Unicode version, but this should not be a problem, since the filenames should be all ASCII, otherwise there is trouble in many OS. (But honestly, the last time I had such troubles was with a Japanese Windows SE in 2004, until the "factory.Möbelfabrik.pak" in pak64 was renamed.)

Offline Mishasama

  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • BE NICE
  • Languages: JA, ZH, EN
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2020, 03:31:21 PM »
I am using a Japanese Windows10 (build 18363) and it works for me. Maybe you have a Virus scanner that is overeager and blocks NSIS installer downloads. Some plugins I need have no Unicode version, but this should not be a problem, since the filenames should be all ASCII, otherwise there is trouble in many OS. (But honestly, the last time I had such troubles was with a Japanese Windows SE in 2004, until the "factory.Möbelfabrik.pak" in pak64 was renamed.)

I found the problem.
It can't run under non English path... e.g. C:\Users\Admin\downloads\ゲーム\

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10674
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2020, 12:55:42 AM »
Strange, windows should then return a short path in case of ANSI calls, instead failing. That means I have to change to unicode capable plucings (actually only the cab of Japan128 is incompible right now).

Offline Mishasama

  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • BE NICE
  • Languages: JA, ZH, EN
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2020, 07:03:09 PM »
Strange, windows should then return a short path in case of ANSI calls, instead failing. That means I have to change to unicode capable plucings (actually only the cab of Japan128 is incompible right now).

err... I mean the NSIS based installer can't run properly under non English path.
It may have the same problem with the game, but I don't know, I'm playing the Steam version, and update it manually on that English only path.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10674
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2020, 11:42:47 PM »
The game uses the windows short path handling capabilities and can run with Unicode paths (as said, I tested with Simutrans in a non-ANSI named home directory some time ago).

The problem is that not all plugins in NSIS are available for Unicode, especially cab is not. There is another cab plugin, so I will look into that.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5691
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2020, 06:35:33 PM »

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10674
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2020, 01:54:19 PM »
So far the theory. However, even if there is no short name, is still a "short" path returned in ANSI characters, which is the only thing we care. Anyhow, I will have a look at the installer.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10674
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [online-install] NSIS Error
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2020, 12:55:01 PM »
The current installer uses unicode, since there are now plugins for everything. I am not sure about the nightly though, since it is a debian built.