News:

Do you need help?
Simutrans Wiki Manual can help you to play and extend Simutrans. In 9 languages.

Feature suggestions

Started by KneeOn, April 28, 2020, 10:35:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KneeOn

Hello,

I have had three thoughts on possible future features. I will preface this with saying I am not a programmer and these are suggestions to prompt discussion/debate/ideas rather than anything else. There are three specific things I've had thoughts on. I can't find a specific feature request/idea thread where they are discussed so i'm posting here - sorry if this isn't the right place but its the best one I can find.

1. Depots

Currently depots that are the "home depot" for hundreds of carriages are a short 2 track spur and 1 tile building. Theoretically I could have one depot to service the entire fleet of trains for a 2048x2048 map. This is plainly unrealistic. On Standard, which has a much more 'gamey' ambition that is fine however Extended it seems like an outlier. I have an idea for better depots made of two smaller changes. One applies solely to multi-tile vehicles i.e. maglev, narrow gauge, tram and train. The other applies to all tiles. Both would tie in with planned maintenance visits

The first part involves creating a new way-object type for depot-stations. The practical implication is that a multi-tile vehicle cannot attend a depot for planned depot visits if that depot is shorter than the vehicles actual length. For example (using Carls pak64 train types) I have a 8 car class 377 which takes 6 tiles from memory. The train has completed its nth journey, is in town B and now requires a depot visit (or however this is calculated). The closest depot is Town B depot and it is a small 4 tile depot which is suitable for servicing the 313 trains which also run out of Town B however it cannot accept the 377 class trains because it is too small.