The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Maximum bridge weights  (Read 182 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Freahk

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Languages: DE, EN
Maximum bridge weights
« on: May 12, 2020, 07:36:03 PM »
I have no idea if current maximum bridge weights are realistic or not.
However, Sheffield tram-train is too heavy for any available road bridge and it should be possible to build road+tram bridges that can carry that load, as it is also possible to construct bridges for much heavier trains.

I have just found an image of a bridge in sheffield tram network, although I don't know if that section is part of the tram-train line or not.
https://www.thetrams.co.uk/supertram/pictures/000619/image/original.jpg

Should we adjust the maximum weight of an existing bridge e.g. steel cantilever or concrete bridge or add a new one instead?
Or is this intended and tram-train should not be able to use and road bridges at all?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 19975
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Maximum bridge weights
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2020, 12:23:56 PM »
The Tram-Train can use the concrete road bridge, introduced in 1955, which has a 70t weight limit; the Tram-Trains weigh 66t each. I have just tested this, and the Tram-Trains will pass over the bridge.

Offline Freahk

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Maximum bridge weights
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2020, 01:03:21 PM »
The tram-train has a loaded weight of 72.16 tons.
Concrete bridges have a weight limit of 70t. A quite dangerous pitfall for any schedules.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 19975
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Maximum bridge weights
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2020, 01:05:51 PM »
Thank you for spotting that. I have now increased the maximum weight of these to 74t to avoid this problem.