The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: GitHub Actions CI builds  (Read 248 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ceeac

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 181
GitHub Actions CI builds
« on: August 16, 2020, 08:05:26 AM »
Following the discussion in this thread I made CI builds for Linux and macOS using GitHub Actions.
Please note that while everything compiles successfully, the generated zip packages probably do not work (yet). So for now this is only useful to check whether a commit compiles.
I also added a check which runs cleanup_code.sh to check for trailing whitespace.
The corresponding WIP pull request is here: #252.

Offline freddyhayward

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Languages: EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2020, 09:12:57 AM »
I tested the Linux SDL2 build and it works fine after copying the Pak128.Britain-Ex folder into the directory.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10147
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2020, 12:26:09 PM »
IN principle one can also make windows build, provided one patches the vcx... files to include the needed libraries. Or one can use the msys2 system. Both were so much more complicated than crosscompiling on my server, so I abanded it. (Even more since the current SDL2 from MSYS2 does not allow static linking, while a self-built one has no such problems ...)

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 20207
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2020, 12:37:20 PM »
I have merged the pull request, but I am now receiving regular e-mail from Github telling me that the builds have failed:

Code: [Select]
Run failed for master (f043bf6)

Repository: jamespetts/simutrans-extended
Workflow: CI
Duration: 4 minutes and 20.0 seconds
Finished: 2020-08-16 11:36:31 UTC

View results
Jobs:

    Code Formatting succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (Allegro, single-threaded) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (headless) failed (1 annotation)
    Linux (SDL2, multi-threaded, freetype) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (SDL1) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (OpenGL) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux Makeobj succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (SDL1 + SDL_mixer) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (Debug SDL2, multi-threaded) succeeded (0 annotations)
    macOS Makeobj succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux Nettool succeeded (0 annotations)
    macOS Nettool succeeded (0 annotations)
    macOS (SDL2) failed (1 annotation)


You are receiving this because this workflow ran on your branch.
Manage your GitHub Actions notifications here.

I am not familiar with CI setups, I am afraid, so I am not sure how to interpret this.

Offline freddyhayward

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Languages: EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2020, 01:06:10 PM »
I have merged the pull request, but I am now receiving regular e-mail from Github telling me that the builds have failed:

Code: [Select]
Run failed for master (f043bf6)

Repository: jamespetts/simutrans-extended
Workflow: CI
Duration: 4 minutes and 20.0 seconds
Finished: 2020-08-16 11:36:31 UTC

View results
Jobs:

    Code Formatting succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (Allegro, single-threaded) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (headless) failed (1 annotation)
    Linux (SDL2, multi-threaded, freetype) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (SDL1) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (OpenGL) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux Makeobj succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (SDL1 + SDL_mixer) succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux (Debug SDL2, multi-threaded) succeeded (0 annotations)
    macOS Makeobj succeeded (0 annotations)
    Linux Nettool succeeded (0 annotations)
    macOS Nettool succeeded (0 annotations)
    macOS (SDL2) failed (1 annotation)


You are receiving this because this workflow ran on your branch.
Manage your GitHub Actions notifications here.

I am not familiar with CI setups, I am afraid, so I am not sure how to interpret this.
There's more detailed information on the github site:
Code: [Select]
build/default/gui/components/gui_chart.o: In function `gui_chart_t::draw(scr_coord)':
gui_chart.cc:(.text+0xc4c): undefined reference to `display_filled_roundbox_clip(short, short, short, short, unsigned short, bool)'
gui_chart.cc:(.text+0x11b3): undefined reference to `display_filled_roundbox_clip(short, short, short, short, unsigned short, bool)'

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 20207
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2020, 01:14:12 PM »
It is not clear whether this is caused by something specific in the CI setup or whether this is a new general problem with the code introduced by an unknown one of the changes integrated since the last successful build last night.

Offline Freahk

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1257
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2020, 01:15:16 PM »
It's not CI specific.
I got the same issue when compiling the headless binary on my system.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 20207
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2020, 01:24:49 PM »
display_filled_roundbox_clip

Thank you for letting me know. I have pushed what I believe to be a fix; I should be grateful if you could re-test and confirm. Thank you.

Offline freddyhayward

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Languages: EN
Re: GitHub Actions CI builds
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2020, 01:26:42 PM »
Thank you for letting me know. I have pushed what I believe to be a fix; I should be grateful if you could re-test and confirm. Thank you.
Thankfully, this is no longer necessary. The CI is working as intended!