The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool  (Read 935 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Flemmbrav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • PAK-DEV P192C
  • Languages: DE, EN
Hello there,

I used to be able to make ways and stations public with sad tool.
On Simutrans 122.0 I'm not able to do so anymore.
The tool works on stations still. Ways can't be affected by it anymore.

I need frequently in online-games.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10641
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2021, 12:40:28 AM »
It was never the intention of that tools to make ways public. However, the ways should belong to the owner of the station, otherwise strange thing can happen upon deletion. I will investigate.

Offline Flemmbrav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • PAK-DEV P192C
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2021, 07:56:32 AM »
Is there a different tool to connect railway networks?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10641
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2021, 06:20:33 AM »
Since most paksets do not have private rail signals, conenctiong rail networks was not considered in standard paksets. Since make public and join are not different funktions, using public on ways to connect to, could be an option.

Offline Flemmbrav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • PAK-DEV P192C
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2021, 10:10:08 PM »
So the introduction of privat signals makes a tool to create a public way necessary?
Since we have that tool in the game and in some paksets, both of us agree on a need for something like that?

I'm just confused. I sincerely thought this was intended behaviour and I think this is a tool we need in the game. I see no reason to remove it without adding an alternative.

Offline makie

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 306
    • Homepage PAK128-German
  • Languages: DE
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2021, 09:41:07 AM »
older discussion of this topic
https://www.simutrans-forum.de/mybb/showthread.php?tid=9007&pid=116028#pid116028

I agree with Flemmbrav.
A player should be able to make ways public.

from the simuconf.tab
Quote
# disable companies from making ways public with the appropiate tool
# even when disabled companies can still make stops public
# does not affect public service provider player
disable_make_way_public = 0
this does not work anymore

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10641
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2021, 07:25:04 AM »
OK, I am sold. Works again in r9671

Offline Flemmbrav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • PAK-DEV P192C
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Can't make ways public with the "make way or station public" tool
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2021, 10:23:21 PM »
Awesome! Thanks a lot and regards from the whole Pak192.Comic-Team.