The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar  (Read 2432 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9595
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« on: June 11, 2009, 09:48:25 PM »
Added since a while, is actually someone using this feature? As it is not even mentioned in the current ingame help, I get the impression nearly everyone forgot about it.

Offline z9999

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 848
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 10:45:00 PM »
Of course, I'm always using this.
My display is small but I don't want to close window.
Many window doesn't remember last used status. For example, every time I open finance window I must click "Months" tab again, every time I open Line window I must click Profit button again to see chart, etc..

Before this future feature, I always move window below to hide it and move back again to see it. It was very annoying for me.
Do you want to remove this future feature ?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2009, 06:48:51 AM by z9999 »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 10:45:52 PM »
Ahh, I didn't even know that it was a feature. The trouble with features that one can only find out about by accident or by reading documentation (especially when that documentation is not updated) is that people ever hardly know that those features exist. Perhaps either instead of or as well as right clicking on the title bar, the feature could be activated by a button at the right-hand side of the title bar?

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall us

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3666
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2009, 11:29:02 PM »
I use it constantly when I play - it's very very handy. I can keep up, for example, the Display window, which is usually only accessible after two clicks - but something I use every once in a while (to show or hide station coverage) -- so with this feature, I can have the window handy at all times, but out of the way when I don't need it.

It's a very very handy feature. :)

Offline Severous

  • *
  • Posts: 377
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2009, 12:16:22 AM »
Hi

I found it by accident but havnt been using it.  I cant remember why..maybe I didnt stop to think how useful it could be. 

I often use the backspace button to 'close all' windows..maybe thats the reason or I couldnt get it to open fully again.

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall us

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3666
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2009, 01:33:00 AM »
I should give a bit more information :)

I keep the map window, truck depot, display window open always, but typically of those I only use one at a time, so I make a stack near the top left - and only have one open at a time...

When I want to set up a series of lines serving a factory chain (now that we have to fulfill the entire chain or production stops), I open up all the factory windows so I can quickly move between them (clicking on the picture)...

Those are the two ways I use this feature the most... but I also sometimes keep other windows open this way -- when I *do* care about finances, it stays open even though it's just a keypress away :)

Offline sojo

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Maintainer pak96.comic
    • German home of Simutrans
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2009, 06:36:51 AM »
Short answer: I like it.  :)

Offline z9999

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 848
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2009, 06:52:35 AM »
In old window system of simutrans, we lost active tool when its tool window was deactivated.
And we needed many clicks to activate last used tool again.
That is one of the reason that this tool isn't triggering by left click.


Offline wipi35

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 250
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
  • Languages: NL,EN,GE,FR
Re: Hide Windows with right mouse button in titlebar
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2009, 01:18:41 PM »
Never discovered this option  :-[  But I like it.
Are there some more hidden treasures?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2009, 04:44:39 PM by wipi35 »