The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Tunnel errors.  (Read 4434 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jarauh

  • *
  • Posts: 23
Tunnel errors.
« on: August 25, 2008, 08:16:29 PM »
Building tunnels leads to error messages that are not very conclusive. As many issues need to be considered when building tunnels it would be nice to have a special "tunnel help" page and a link on every error messages. For example building a tunnel entry always builds one square into the tunnel. If there already is a track at this place at this tile, there is an error message.

(pak64 at 100.0)

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10826
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2008, 08:29:11 PM »
Write a better help text. The help is nearly always outdated.

Offline Kgm13

  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2008, 09:16:11 PM »
how difficult is it to write the help text, as i would like to do this

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10826
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2008, 09:26:41 PM »
These are just ASCII files in text/en/ (or english)

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2008, 09:27:43 PM »
As difficult as take one existant, modify it, save it with another name and add a link from the ingame help homepage. The text inside help files is pseudo-html. You can found them at simutrans/text/language_you_have_selected. The file where you must add the link to the tunnel one is general.txt, which is the ingame-help index.

Offline Kgm13

  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2008, 09:28:48 PM »
ill have a go when i get home :)
at work at the moment,

Offline Colin

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 663
  • Certa Cito
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2008, 11:43:25 PM »
Building tunnels leads to error messages that are not very conclusive. As many issues need to be considered when building tunnels it would be nice to have a special "tunnel help" page and a link on every error messages. For example building a tunnel entry always builds one square into the tunnel. If there already is a track at this place at this tile, there is an error message.

(pak64 at 100.0)

Can't say I've come across this one. I build tunnels everywhere including great lengthy ones under a thousand K's of sea, or land, never have a problem.
One thing that does need more explanations though, especially for new members is, "How to build underground lines using the Tunnel Tool". As in, when you have built an underground rail line, you want to add lines underground, but not appearing to exit the underground. Like building underground stations.

Offline Ormac

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 85
    • Simutrans Reference Material
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2008, 07:45:03 AM »
He might be having difficulty understanding the meaning of errors such
as "tunnel must start on single way" or "no Suitable Ground" though it would help everyone if these were clarified or made easier to understand at some time in the future.

Ormac 8)


Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10826
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Tunnel errors.
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2008, 02:24:38 PM »
These are actually internal game text. Making better error messages in translator is possible. But they are aparent "English enoguh" for no one to bother :(