The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com  (Read 5056 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18721
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« on: August 15, 2009, 03:59:32 PM »
For some reason that I have not yet been able to fathom, Firefox 3.5, to which I have just upgraded, crashes when accessing http://files.simutrans-germany.com. It worked fine in Firefox 3.0, and in Internet Explorer, but the browser completely freezes when I try to load the site in Firefox 3.5. Is there some scripting error somewhere on the page that is causing the trouble, I wonder?

Offline Frank

  • Inactive/Retired
  • *
  • Posts: 1431
  • Languages: DE
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2009, 04:39:29 PM »
Firefox 3.5.2 works fine for me

high server load, perhaps

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18721
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2009, 04:43:35 PM »
Hmm, odd - I am also using 3.5.2. High server load should not crash the browser, and it worked fine in IE. Do you use Linux or Windows?

Offline Frank

  • Inactive/Retired
  • *
  • Posts: 1431
  • Languages: DE
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2009, 04:47:43 PM »
Windows XP Pro

files.simutrans-germany.com does not use a javascript

the site consists of only php and css

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18721
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2009, 04:52:30 PM »
Very odd.

Offline wipi35

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 250
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
  • Languages: NL,EN,GE,FR
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2009, 05:32:25 PM »
No problem, using Firefox 3.5.2

Offline robofish

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2009, 05:39:06 PM »
maybe an addon you are using is causing the trouble - disable them and try again :)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18721
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2009, 06:02:41 PM »
I have the same addins as I had before the upgrade, and I had no trouble then.

Offline robofish

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2009, 09:21:07 PM »
maybe it's the combination of ff 3.5 + addons + files.s-g.com - please try to disable some of them if possible

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18721
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2009, 10:56:21 PM »
Perhaps to narrow it down, can I ask Frank what addons that he has so that I know not to disable those?

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall us

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3651
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: Firefox 3.5 and files.simutrans-germany.com
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2009, 07:22:01 AM »
In your FireFox menu (in Start -> Programs), should have an option to start in Safe Mode - try that first - easiest