The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Installing with Linux  (Read 9166 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

magnovox

  • Guest
Installing with Linux
« on: September 09, 2008, 09:13:39 PM »
Can someone help me with installing the game when using Linux


Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 11:36:49 PM »
Well, why don't you tell us what you tried and what happened?

magnovox

  • Guest
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 01:04:27 AM »
Well i really dont know where to start. i tried "apt-get install packagename" and that didnt work. Im new to linux

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2008, 01:17:19 AM »
Im new to linux

Sorry, can't help you then - you'll have to wait for someone else. But usually simutrans doesn't really need an installation - just two archives (program and one pakset) need to be unzipped into a folder, and that's basically it. Don't know if there are any special steps necessary under Linux...

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2008, 01:50:00 AM »
You didn't mention which flavour of Linux, and DirrrtyDirk is right, it is as easy as downloading the two zip files.

1 -  Get the Simutrans binary for Linux as well as a PAK, save them in the same folder.  Keep in mind that you need permissions to the folder in question.

2 - Extract the two files.  On OpenSuse it is as easy as right-clicking on the file and selecting "Extract Here".  This will extract the PAK in one folder, and the binary in another folder.

3 - If you look in the two folders, you will see that they both contain a Simutrans folder.  You need to merge these two folders, by copying the simutrans folder of one over the other.  When you are done, if you look in the simutrans folder, you should see a folder called PAK, or PAK128 (varies depending on what version you are using).

4 - To run Simutrans, simply double click on the icon.  If you followed these instructions, then it should work.  If Simutrans does not start, you either did not copy the files properly, the Simutrans folder does not have Execute permission, or there is a problem with playing midi music.  The 3rd problem can be cirvumvented by opening up terminal, changing directories until you are in the Simutrans one, and typing "./simutrans -nomidi".

I wrote this quickly, I hope I didn't forget something (I am sure I will be corrected).

Offline isidoro

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1142
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2008, 02:09:01 AM »
Just two additional details:
1) zlib and SDL libraries are needed. To install:
sudo apt-get install zlib1g
sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2debian-alsa

in my system.
2) I needed to provide this file: english.tab in simutrans/text, but I am not sure of that.


Offline whoami

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 693
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2008, 12:03:32 PM »
This will extract the PAK in one folder, and the binary in another folder.
It's actually easier and faster to extract both at the same location - for recent versions: the order of extraction isn't important, because the packages don't have files in common.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10819
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2008, 07:25:05 PM »
apt-get will work on debian, given that you are using an unstable repository. However, unzipping the nightly will give you the newest version.

shaniah

  • Guest
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2008, 02:57:45 AM »
Ok, this is about 10 days ago. and I just tried to also install simutrans on a linux machine.

I installed. unzipped into a folder...  But I did not intall a pak, as the link for some reason did not work. Will check on that again. but my qestion is this.

I clicked on the icon to run the game.  It came up witha black screen and a box in the middle. it said as follows.
Quote

You have multiple pak sets to choose from.

Choose one graphics set for playing:

To avoid seeing this dialogue define a path by:
 - adding 'pak_file_path = pak/' to your simuconf.tab
 - using '-objects pakxyz/'on the command line

[end quote]

So yes. I tried the first option it gave me, but I could not find what to do, I fond simuconf.tab, but was not sure what to do from there.  I will try to download the pak, but any ideas?

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2008, 03:22:15 AM »
You need to download a pak with Simutrans, as it contains all the graphical elements of the game.  Without it, Simutrans cannot work. 

That being said, you should have gotten a message saying "no pak found" instead of the "multiple paks found" message you received.  I tried starting Simutrans myself without a pak, and it does the same thing.  Looks like you found a bug ;D

It's actually easier and faster to extract both at the same location - for recent versions: the order of extraction isn't important, because the packages don't have files in common.

Of course, there is more than one way to do it  ;D

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 10819
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2008, 08:05:59 AM »
Said error is already corrected in the nightly.

shaniah

  • Guest
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2008, 11:19:35 AM »
Where  do I download the paks. the ones in the download page dont seem to work.

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2008, 11:25:38 AM »
Wich PAKs do you mean?

The "nightlys" can you get from my webpage:
http://www.wernieman.de/simutrans/index.en.html

Atention:
There is no guarantee, that they work!!

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Installing with Linux
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2008, 11:31:09 AM »
Where  do I download the paks. the ones in the download page dont seem to work.

Probably SourceForge / mirror problem then. Try from this site: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=196471