The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Velodrome  (Read 6542 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Velodrome
« on: January 10, 2010, 06:00:30 AM »
here is a preliminary 3d model of a multi-use velodrome.
still missing a lot of details...
« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 01:11:33 PM by The Hood »

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 01:13:20 PM »
Looking promising.  Would remove shadows and possible make the stands more curvy rather than in straight segments (if you understand).  It may also be a tad bright for pak128.Britain style, but let's see it in game first.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 03:37:06 PM »
curvy stands?
like what the track looks like?
I'm not entirely sure what you mean because the stands are just one big circle and look like a baumkuchen.

do you mean the shadow on the building or shadow on the outside floor? shadow on the floor is easy to remove, but when shadows are gone in sketchup the lighting becomes right next to the camera.

looks like this with no shadows,

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 03:58:09 PM »
I was trying to say that the stands might look better with a smoother edge, at the minute there are definite straight sections linked together (viewed from above).  Anyway, looks better without the shadow, but I've also just realised the light needs to come from bottom left rather than left (as I think it is doing in your images so far).

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2010, 12:09:46 AM »
ah, I see, the 'circle' isn't very circle.
that's more of a limitation of sketchup since I can't define how many points the circle will be made up of.
lighting is also a limitation of sketchup.

I'll see what I can come up with to work around those two issue.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2010, 04:02:08 PM »
Just looking at it, maybe the faceting of the circle in the CAD software won't be an issue once the image is scaled into the game anyway.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2010, 06:03:06 PM »
This is another building usable also in other paks (separately form british pak). But inside is often technical support for riders, not tennis (and ?volleyball) courts.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2010, 06:52:18 PM »
@vaclav

yes, you're right. velodromes usually don't have other sports courts inside, but some modern ones have been retrofitted with them along with a new tent/tarp sort of roof.
it's no big deal to remove those courts and place tech support in there since it's just painted on.

@AP
it no big deal to double the points in the circle. I'll just use two circles of the same size with a slight offset to double the edges.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2010, 01:49:39 AM »
a version 2


unfortunately, all the details, like bikes, are lost even at this size

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3267
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2010, 09:06:35 AM »
OK. Much better. But could you explain white line upon upper edge of race track?

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2010, 09:23:04 AM »
Circular stands look much better.  My 2 cents:
1) Brick texture looks too coarse, can you make it finer?
2) Maybe put a roof on?  Aren't most velodromes enclosed?  That would also partially remove the problem of having bikes in the middle, although maybe for effect the roof should be transparent so you can see the track...

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2010, 09:35:47 AM »
Perhaps a good solution would be a transparent roof, to see the inside.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2010, 07:32:52 PM »
white lines: that would be the wall that separates the track from the stands. it's just unpainted, I'm undecided on a colour. there are usually advertisements on these boards.

brick texture: I think it was just the zoom level that made it look like that, I'll try and find a better brick texture for this size. how's the colour for the bricks? use something redder or keep it the way it is?

roof: some are enclosed, some are not, but usually the stands are covered.
open tracks usually have some sort of asphalt or asphalt-concrete track and the field might be dirt or grass. enclosed ones usually have wood everything, except the structure itself and the roof.
I can split it into two types, seeing as the hard part is already done, which is the track.
enclosed, partial dome covering the stands and the center bit made of glass or similar?
open field, different textures for track and ground?

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Velodrome
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2010, 08:50:13 PM »
As for the brick texture, it's a good colour, just needs to be a finer scale.  There must be away to adjust this in sketchup?

Roof: Go for what you want then.