The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Plane Pak  (Read 43790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Plane Pak
« on: September 14, 2008, 04:28:34 PM »
Hi guys, I've been painting some new planes for the pak those days, and also fixing some problems on existing ones. By now there are A300, 310, 320, 340 and 380 Airbus models, as well as 707, 727, 737 and 777 Boeing ones. Some of them are in cargo versions and some aren't. I will create new ones to fill gaps I find in the cronology, but btw this is what is available at the moment.
I leave here the paks themselves, so you can enjoy them if you want. They're still not finished at 100% (maybe 80 or 90) but I think they are now much more playable than last version. Actually I can't play without them!

Edit: Updated pak.

Edit: New A380 version 2.0 here
« Last Edit: January 25, 2009, 03:16:50 PM by Zeno »

Offline gauthier

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3629
    • SNFOS'website (in both FR and EN)
  • Languages: FR, EN, JP
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 07:37:21 PM »
Your planes are nice but I remember that you created Concorde, could you join it here ?
(I like much A340 in Air France skin  :P )

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 07:49:36 PM »
I'd say the engines on the A340 look too big...

And as a German I'm kinda missing Lufthansa - but maybe that'll be part of the Boeing fleet?  ;)

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2008, 08:30:05 PM »
Your planes are nice but I remember that you created Concorde, could you join it here ?
Needs some remaking, but I'll join it ASAP. Now bonus system is taken from a file instead of the vehicle's speed, isn't it??? If so, I will include it in the pak, because I left it appart to mantain economy balance due to the impact of Concorde's speed in the bonus system.

I'd say the engines on the A340 look too big...
And as a German I'm kinda missing Lufthansa - but maybe that'll be part of the Boeing fleet?  ;)
I'll take a look at that A340 engines... Btw there's also another bug: the 707-320B is four engined instead of twin  :-[
After correcting these engines, I plan to draw some Douglas planes, as well as 757 or 767 from Boeing. I'll make a Lufthansa livery for a one of those.

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2008, 08:52:08 PM »
707: true - didn't see that either.  :o

One minor issue (for me at least) is that none of these mentioned models are part of Lufthansa fleet IRL. (Well, Lufthansa Cargo uses MD-11Fs) but else it is just A319/320/321, A300-600, A330-300, A340-300/600, B737-300/500 and B747-400,

For LH Cityline there's Avro RJ85 and Bombardier Models CRJ900, CRJ700, CRJ100/200

Oh well... as long as you keep publishing the sources, I might just convert one or two myself.  ;)

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2008, 08:58:08 PM »
One minor issue (for me at least) is that none of these mentioned models are part of Lufthansa fleet IRL....A330-300...
I heard A330? I think it's in my list (actually I have to draw it ... I think it's the substitute of the A300 when it retires!). Maybe in a couple of days...  ;)

I'd say the engines on the A340 look too big...
Well... IRL they're really huge... You can see some pics in this website. Anyway I'll take some measurements later.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2008, 09:01:37 PM by Zeno »

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2008, 09:12:15 PM »
I heard A330? I think it's in my list (actually I have to draw it ... I think it's the substitute of the A300 when it retires!). Maybe in a couple of days...  ;)
At least it is shown on this list...


Well... IRL they're really huge... You can see some pics in this website. Anyway I'll take some measurements later.
True. I remembered them smaller (even on the older models they are bigger than I thought - not to mention the 500/600 models...) So they maybe right - just looked really big on first glimpse.

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2008, 09:22:33 PM »
Lufthansa operates 14 A330-300. I still have not decided if will draw the 200 or 300 variant. You can see some detail about it at the wikipedia entry.
Anyway, I have an invitation for the brazilian Embraer, and Lufthansa has about 30 orders for the 190 model (see here). They will be flying next year (expected).
I'll write down it by now, and later on this week I'll take a look and decide. Thanks for ur comments!



Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2008, 11:13:48 AM »
Done first renders for the A380 Freighter with UPS livery. I'll try to get it coded tonight. Here is part of the png (real size).

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2008, 11:39:42 AM »
Nice :)

Offline Alex. Brose

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 387
  • C.E.O. Graphic Factory
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2008, 11:45:23 AM »
Big, bigger, biggest.

There will be a reeeeeeally big shadow under the plane. A plane as big as a cloud, hehe.
Nice. =)

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2008, 02:12:11 PM »
However, is not a real model. No A380-800F have been ever built, and the 27 orders there where either cancelled or refitted... So we won't see any one flying at least in short term... Well, actually only we will see it... in Simutrans!!!  8)

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2008, 07:36:36 PM »
Your planes are nice but I remember that you created Concorde, could you join it here ?
I might include it in the main pak later on. By now, I've recoded it and now is available at top of the topic ;)

Offline fuzion_051

  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2008, 08:23:18 AM »
where can I download this? I can't seem to find it here (what's the file name?).. :-\

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2008, 08:28:24 AM »
Download the rar file attached to the first post, I guess

Offline fuzion_051

  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2008, 08:39:16 AM »
That's what I did but the planes did not appear, even though I'm not using the timeline.
I

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2008, 08:41:48 AM »
You have to extract the three PAK files that are compressed inside the RAR, and put them in your PAK128 folder. I've been testing it yesterday all the day, and worked fine all of them... is strange  ???

Offline fuzion_051

  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2008, 10:25:01 AM »
Is the RAR file you're referring to the one you attached here? It's because the RAR file I've downloaded here is an inextractable file (in my case).

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2008, 10:38:12 AM »
Perhaps you don't have the proper program installed to extract rar files (i.e. winrar or unrar) I've just downloaded that RAR file (the one attached to the first post of this topic) and I've been able to extract the pak files from the rar using Winrar.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 10:50:03 AM by vilvoh »

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2008, 10:38:19 AM »
Just to make sure: do you have winrar (or another program capable of hadling rar files)? IIRC winzip cannot do this, also the internal windows XP zip file handler won't work...

EDIT: Wow!  :o  vilvoh beat me by 7(!) seconds...

Offline fuzion_051

  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #20 on: September 16, 2008, 10:47:23 AM »
I see..I haven't got any programs that can handle RAR files. (I only got XP's extractor).
Are there any free RAR extractor programs available online?

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #21 on: September 16, 2008, 10:55:16 AM »
I think Winrar is free for private use. You can also try Free RAR Extract Frog
« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 11:10:26 AM by vilvoh »

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #22 on: September 16, 2008, 11:05:02 AM »
Also PeaZip is quite handy, even if you use it only once a lifetime.

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2008, 11:28:08 AM »
Back to the planes themselves :) - and another issue of scale  :(...

Your Boeing 777 appears to be too small. In real life the 777 is quite a bit bigger than the A300 (wingspan +15/20m and length +9/19m - depending on model) - while your Boeing looks smaller than that Airbus (at least the DHL-Post version) in the depot...

Also compared to the A380, the 777 is too small (the -200 versions are less than 10m shorter and the -300/-300ER versions are even about 1.5m longer than the A380-800.)

And the A380 is now correctly aligned on N/S - but E/W is still off.

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2008, 11:45:22 AM »
When you will unpack rar, you can use 7zip ...
http://www.7-zip.org/

And this IS free  ;D

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2008, 12:53:14 PM »
Your Boeing 777 appears to be too small. In real life the 777 is quite a bit bigger than the A300 (wingspan +15/20m and length +9/19m - depending on model) - while your Boeing looks smaller than that Airbus (at least the DHL-Post version) in the depot...
The 777 is off-scaled... I rescaled it taking a look to a blueprint as backimage, and it seems that that blueprint is not correct, because the 777 fuselage is 6.19 m width, about 1.6 m. more than all the airbuses. By length it should be exactly as long as the A340; actually, 10cm longer ;)
I'll have to take a look at it  :-[

And the A380 is now correctly aligned on N/S - but E/W is still off.
I did last changes (just in E/W alignment) yesterday evening... when did you looked at it last time?

Thank you very much for the details!

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2008, 01:11:48 PM »
I did last changes (just in E/W alignment) yesterday evening... when did you looked at it last time?

Just before I wrote that post - and I had just downloaded it before.

Quote from: Zeno
Thank you very much for the details!

No problem - just trying to improve your already very good work!

BTW - once you are done, could you maybe create a set of sources all in plain white - so I could maybe add some more liveries in the future?

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2008, 01:30:03 PM »
Just before I wrote that post - and I had just downloaded it before.
>:( I'll take a look at it ASAP!!

BTW - once you are done, could you maybe create a set of sources all in plain white - so I could maybe add some more liveries in the future?
Maybe... but it depends of how much work it will need. Not before I finish with all of them for sure, but maybe later on ::)

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2008, 01:53:45 PM »
No hurry at all - as I said "once you are done". May even take months as far as I care - just one day would be cool.

Offline Mac_#71

  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Chuck Norris approves Simutrans!!
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #29 on: September 16, 2008, 08:42:56 PM »
Ah, are fantastic!  8)
You have done a really good job, congratulations! ;)
You also have placed your previous PlanePakA.  ;D
But the "Concorde" is not a bit too expensive? :-\

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #30 on: September 16, 2008, 08:52:24 PM »
Ah, are fantastic!  8)
You have done a really good job, congratulations! ;)
You also have placed your previous PlanePakA.  ;D
But the "Concorde" is not a bit too expensive? :-\
Thanks! The Concorde has doubled price and running cost, I might re-balance it. Anyway, I plan to do a total re-make of all the planes (including concorde), with full and precise rescale, maybe during this and next week.

Offline aeroplanes

  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #31 on: September 23, 2008, 03:16:19 PM »
wow, who created this? great job, but can't find the file to download

Offline aeroplanes

  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #32 on: September 23, 2008, 03:22:10 PM »
guys, you know, actually the A380 has lots of defects and not suitable for flying

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #33 on: September 23, 2008, 03:23:36 PM »
Well, it's not perfect, but does the job for me...

Offline aeroplanes

  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Plane Pak
« Reply #34 on: September 23, 2008, 03:24:49 PM »
ya, it is good to use in Simutrans, but in real life, i am not longing to take it