The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Bulid A Simple Railway System  (Read 8491 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

daffi

  • Guest
Bulid A Simple Railway System
« on: April 12, 2010, 07:06:43 AM »
Simutrans is a fun simulator game. But sometime we got frustated by the stucked trains, caused by our mistakes, putting the wrong signal, building too many junctions with unproper signals. With a little experiment & some notes, I decide to make a model of a simple railway system to solve this little frustating problems. Here is the model, I hope this helpful. ;)


Offline Lukewarm

  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 08:59:52 AM »
It looks nice, I will have a "proper" look at it at lunchtime.

Offline Herocrafter

  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2010, 02:49:07 AM »
Sorry this is a few months old thread but I'm looking at all the signal treads to help me.  Anyway, in your diagram you have 3 one-way signals going into the D1 platform is that right?

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4591
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2010, 05:03:11 PM »
Two signals are on the ingoing tracks, one at the outgoint track, if I interprete the picture correctly.

Offline Herocrafter

  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2010, 05:41:43 PM »
I interprete the 3 circles on the ingoing track as 3 signals but irregardless of whether its 2 or 3 shouldn't there only be one?

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2010, 05:52:16 PM »
I interprete the 3 circles on the ingoing track as 3 signals but irregardless of whether its 2 or 3 shouldn't there only be one?
It depends on the situation.  Sometimes you want to add signals to allow trains to run closer to each other, thus allowing more trains on the same stretch.

Offline Herocrafter

  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2010, 06:02:53 PM »
I agree with you Lmallet yet I don't believe that was the intent of the diagram.  Basically it just confuses me (which I know can be easy  ;D) showing that many signals on only that section of track.

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2010, 01:54:09 AM »
I agree with you Lmallet yet I don't believe that was the intent of the diagram.  Basically it just confuses me (which I know can be easy  ;D) showing that many signals on only that section of track.
Well, there is no scale, so it is hard to tell what the intent was.  So yes, a bit confusing.

Offline stmaker

  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • am lost noaw.
Re: Bulid A Simple Railway System
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2010, 07:51:50 AM »
Can you tweak it a little? The picture looks confusing with all those lines. :P
« Last Edit: August 21, 2010, 08:05:06 AM by STransMaker »