News:

Want to praise Simutrans?
Your feedback is important for us ;D.

Concerned about goods prices (123Ko .jpg screenshot)

Started by Iluvalar, April 23, 2010, 08:37:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Iluvalar

Hello all,
I'm new to simutrans. It's a pretty good game. I like all the choices we can made in the game, micromanagement and all that stuff.

But now that I understood the core principles of the game, I'm concerned, no consterned, about how the game really calculate prices for the good we deliver. Here is a screenshot :

So, one of my truck go straight from the coal mine to the power station. The shortest distance possible and deliver and manage to deliver 1,100t of coal each month. It make 473 credits for that.

On the other and, my other truck is a f*** retarded. He take is load of coal and take a ride with it, up and down and again and again the WRONG road just delivering 32t of coal a month, but still he make credits (3,600)  like hell ! Why ? because he is always full (opposingly to the "wise" truck who is half of the time empty) and he go staight from the wrong point A to the wrong point B. So from the point of vue of the price calculator, the ride is optimal.

I know what you'll say to me : « Juste don't do that. Play normaly and have fun ». Yeah, I understand, but for a hardgamer like me it's hard to do. I'll probably manage to get some more money now that I know this and build route that still seem to make sens. But until this is somehow fixed, there will be no multiplayer game possible since there is now clear rules to make about how far we can use this exploit.

This is my proposition to calculate prices between two point :
1) Calulate the distance between the center of the "emiter" and the true "receptor" of the goods.