News:

Simutrans Wiki Manual
The official on-line manual for Simutrans. Read and contribute.

[Fixed] Ship teleportation?!?

Started by neroden, April 30, 2010, 12:08:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

neroden

OK, this is a bug in -devel which I found using my slightly altered pak.
- in the current repo for pak128.Britain.experimental, the Dogger "MUST USE: Waterway", which means it can't be used for fishing at all.  Oh dear.
- So I modified it to remove that constraint.  It "MAY USE Small Waterway", but it doesn't have to use a waterway at all.

- Then I started playing a map with a route where the fishing boat had to go from one ocean basin to another, via a canal, in order to get from the Fishery to the Fish Port.  The boat first found "no route".  After I gave it waypoints, it started teleporting.  I then removed the waypoints and it continues to teleport.

So there are some funny problems with the route finder in this circumstance.  Teleporting boats is a new one on me, though.

The game:
http://files.[ simutrans [dot] us (site down, do not visit) ]/files/get/BT0knyrqNr/teleport-game.zip

The pak files which might be different from yours (I couldn't upload the whole pak):
http://files.[ simutrans [dot] us (site down, do not visit) ]/files/get/3YzpEh19yz/pak.zip

jamespetts

Neroden,

thank you for this report. The issue seems to be connected to some of DoR's reports. The problem seems to occur in bool route_t::intern_calc_route(karte_t *welt, const koord3d ziel, const koord3d start, fahrer_t *fahr, const uint32 max_speed, const uint32 max_cost, const uint32 weight) somewhere, I think, but I don't have time to track down exactly what's going on at present. Oddly, this is not a method that I have altered much for Experimental, and not since the last release. The problem does not, however, appear to be related to way constraints. I shall have to look into this in more detail when I get a little more time. Thank you again for the report!