The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Airports with multiple strips for landing  (Read 11767 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DavidS42

  • Guest
Airports with multiple strips for landing
« on: October 01, 2008, 04:34:37 PM »
Hi,

I've build an airport with high traffic density and the aeroplanes want to land faster than the previous can clear the landing strip. Building a third airstrip didn't help.

What did I do wrong?


Regards, DavidS

P.S: I'm using a current nightly build and pak128

Offline wernieman

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 713
    • Werniemans-Webside (only German)
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2008, 04:45:30 PM »
It is a known Problem on Airpots. with One-Way-Signals you kan make a start and landing-strip, but normaly it don´t help to make a 3. strip

DavidS42

  • Guest
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2008, 04:54:33 PM »
 :-\ Then I'll have to wait until bigger aeroplanes are available ...

Offline Stubbsy

  • *
  • Posts: 91
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2008, 05:32:06 PM »
You need to add more Stops, The Planes won't land until there is a space to stop, it's nothing to do with amount of runways.

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2008, 06:14:04 PM »
At a certain point more stops won't help either - there can only be one plane on any runway at any point of time. So if the runway is in use by one plane, the next one will still circle and wait - even if there are a hundred free stops.

Offline Stubbsy

  • *
  • Posts: 91
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2008, 06:45:01 PM »
Oh, that's changed now, lol, i didn't know that was re-done, but his problem atm is stops, looking at it right? As wernieman said you'll need to have one-way signals on the runways for more than one to be used.

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2008, 06:55:33 PM »
Errr... no. One-way signs should never be placed on runways, but on the taxiways that lead to and from the runways - and he actually did that already.

And I see both of the landing and the takeoff runway (as wernieman said: a third one is usually useless) blocked by a plane on the screenshot but 1 (just becoming 2) free stops. So the reason for the circling is more likely the other planes on the runways.

However, 2-3 more stops would indeed be a good thing - but I fear it won't solve very much of the problem.

Offline Stubbsy

  • *
  • Posts: 91
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2008, 07:10:42 PM »
What about splitting it into two? Like another Terminal of sorts, So you have some planes going one side and some the other side, but setting them to go either side, depending on what it does or something like that?

Offline jbode

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2008, 07:29:35 PM »
I split the airports by one way signs ... and use lines to access different parts of the airport. It easily works with 2..3 runways for landing and one runway for starting planes ;)

Jörg

DavidS42

  • Guest
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2008, 07:29:08 AM »
Hmm, using multiple lines sounds like a good idea. I presume the passengers will split up between two lines to the same destination?

Here's what I did until now: I shortened the landing strip so the planes land faster and lengthened the starting strip so they're flying farther apart. That has reduced landing congestion greatly. Of course it doesn't increase the throughput.

Regards, DavidS

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2008, 09:36:08 AM »
You might try separating the airport into two unconnected parts.

Offline Stubbsy

  • *
  • Posts: 91
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2008, 04:56:39 PM »
That is what i meant, thanks for that VS.

Offline statto

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2008, 09:57:38 PM »
I've found the "staggered unconnected airport" to work rather well when you are dealing with many planes at one airport.

Planes coming from the north all are scheduled out of the western stops, land on the north runway and take off from the south runway; all planes coming from the south are scheduled out of the eastern stops, land on the south runway and take off from the north runway.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2008, 07:22:41 AM »
Oftopic: pressing "v" changes display mode - dots, color tint, and hidden :)

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2008, 10:16:30 AM »
@off-topic:

Actually "v" only toggles on/off while dots/tint can be selected in the display options.  ;)

Offline statto

  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2008, 02:33:28 PM »
And I like playing with the dots on :D

Offline Color42

  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Airports with multiple strips for landing
« Reply #16 on: November 03, 2008, 03:06:00 AM »
I use this airport layout in diffrent variations when it comes to the runway, and I have seldom trouble with overcrowding by planes that need to come down for landing.
Two runs ways are for take offs only and two are for landing only and the airport has taxi way arrows so that the planes move around the main building in the same direction allways counter clock wise.