News:

Simutrans Sites
Know our official sites. Find tools and resources for Simutrans.

passenger destination and number of transfer/stops

Started by next-ticket, September 25, 2024, 04:00:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

next-ticket

Sorry, I'm new to Simutrans, currently playing the latest version of Simutrans classic (from Steam) with pak128.
I don't understand how passenger behaviour works, when I check the passenger destinations in the city tab, I can see many orange dots (see image), despite having connected the destination. I suppose it's because the there are too many transfer and stops between the origin and destination but this is not clear in the Wiki. So how does this work? Where is this documented?

edit: version 124.1
edit 2: image: https://imgur.com/a/passenger-behaviour-FthwUUv

prissi

This depends on the settings.

There are dark_orange, orange and yellow. But the small map is only 128x128 pixels, so on a larger map, the information is for a larger square.

First, this maps displays pax=passengers+mail So there will be red pixels if there is no mail transport set up. Maybe that should be changed at some point as nearly no one plays with mail.

Next, the last entry for a pixel wins. So if there was an unsuccessful followed by a successful one, the successful wins.

DARK_ORANGE: no connenction
ORANGE: All starting stops are overcrowded (so no route is checked to save time)
YELLOW: All fine, pax queued for departure

next-ticket

There is mail transport, stations are rarely crowded.
What is strange is that this pattern is true to all cities, more orange dots the further away is the destination, if it was due to crowded stations, the distribution of orange dots should be random no?

Sorry I can't quite see/tell the difference between dark and normal orange.

prissi

Maybe I need to review the color and set it to red then.