The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.  (Read 3353 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« on: August 05, 2010, 11:00:13 AM »
Also there seems to be memory leak(s), the memory consumption of the routing is increasing and increasing during tests with SE.

Hmm - can you provide more information on this? Over what period of time does the consumption increase? And does it increase constantly, or in jumps at month ends? One would expect it to increase for a while after the start of the game given the caching, but obviously not to increase for ever. How are you able to localise the increase to routing in particular? And are you able to narrow down the memory leak any further than that, to a particular part of routing?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9353
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2010, 01:32:39 PM »
LOad "THe world" I sent to your and start it. First memory consumption is greatly reduced (I suppose all passengers are discarded after loading?) and then SE as well as standard increase their memory consumption due to allocation of new passengers. Standard levels of after 130MB or so but SE continues on an on.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2010, 01:43:55 PM »
Prissi,

thank you for that diagnostic information. I have been rather busy lately, but when I get a chance, I shall have a look into that. What was it that made you think that the memory leak comes from routing rather than something else?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9353
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2010, 04:39:06 PM »
SImilar increasing with time when not touching the game at all.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2010, 12:35:42 PM »
Prissi,

I am trying to load this map in order to attempt to diagnose this issue, but using either the latest nightly of Pak64 or a much older version on my hard drive, it fails to load, complaining that it is missing the "cow farm" object. Is there an addon somewhere that I need to install to make this map work?

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4530
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2010, 01:06:22 PM »
there was something like a food-chain addon for pak64. Should be at sourceforge.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Re: No transfer at overcrowded stations.
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2010, 02:06:45 PM »
Thank you - that helped me to load it. On testing the latest -devel branch, no memory leak is apparent: the game stabilises at 196mb with the debugger running in MSVC++.