The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [TIP] Distancing busses  (Read 8414 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
[TIP] Distancing busses
« on: August 16, 2010, 10:58:13 AM »
A recurrent issue on the forum was the distancing of busses, which tend to queue and travel in groups.
This is a solution i briefly tested:



Add at one (or both) ends of the line a side branch with a streetlight.
Manually set the green time for getting out to 1 and a waypoint to that branch: busses will leave at a given interval of time, avoiding grouping.  8)

Offline Spike

  • *
  • Posts: 1361
  • First Simutrans Developer and Graphics Artist
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 11:13:52 AM »
Can I have that for ships, too, please  ;D

More seriously, that is a very useful invention. Thanks for publishing the tip :)

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall us

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3651
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 07:12:07 PM »
Aww, I didn't think of this use for it. I'd come up with this basic idea - put in front of undesea tunnels to sort of simulate Chunnel-like delays...

I won't post a screenshot, but here's something you can do to streamline it slightly: If you build an intersection, place a stoplight - you can then remove the other roads, and are left with a two-way light (i.e. it stops or lets traffic through on your road).

I hadn't thought of using it to increase the distance of busses - but that's a brilliant idea.

Maybe we could allow stoplights to be built on regular roads? Or at least exploit this "bug" for this purpose. :)

Hajo: If you can talk Prissi into allowing elevated ways on water, I will back you up on ship traffic lights (because I'd like that too)... :D

(only, would that work? Wouldn't all the ships queue on one tile, and then when the light turned green, all ships proceed?)

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2010, 07:52:32 PM »
I hadn't thought of this, but that's a brilliant idea. :D


Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9531
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2010, 08:03:24 PM »
A stoplight works also on a straight road, after deletion of the branch ...

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall us

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3651
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2010, 08:53:34 PM »
Ah, Prissi, late to the party:

I won't post a screenshot, but here's something you can do to streamline it slightly: If you build an intersection, place a stoplight - you can then remove the other roads, and are left with a two-way light (i.e. it stops or lets traffic through on your road).

And I came back to post a screenshot:


Offline sanna

  • *
  • Posts: 234
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2010, 08:26:31 AM »
I took this highly useful tip and added it to the wiki at http://simutrans-germany.com/wiki/wiki/tiki-index.php?page=en_RoadPlans&no_bl=y#Vehicle_spacing

If I misunderstood, please update the wiki *smile*

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4597
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2010, 01:34:10 PM »
Please keep in mind that the timing infrmation of the trafficlights is not stored in the savegame yet. But it should happen soon.

Offline Foxglove

  • *
  • Posts: 116
  • Languages: EN, RU
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2010, 02:53:25 AM »
May I ask, how do u click on traffic lights/signs to make them showing their settings? They simply arent clickable for me.
Also as offtopic I'd like to ask how to rotate signs.

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall us

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3651
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2010, 03:04:13 AM »
May I ask, how do u click on traffic lights/signs to make them showing their settings? They simply arent clickable for me.

Only works in nightlies: http://nightly.simutrans-germany.com/

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: [TIP] Distancing busses
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2010, 07:36:15 AM »
I've always used the load percent switch for distancing buses: I set it up at several/all stops in the schedule with a wait time of 1/64 month or 1/128, depending on the desired distance. The load percentage also goes from 50% to 100% depending on the route density. That way, if a bus gets too close to another usually the first one takes all the passengers leaving nothing for the second one, so the second will wait at all stops that have been set up increasing progressively the distance to a good one. It takes some more work than a traffic light, but works very well for me.