The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk  (Read 23704 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« on: January 02, 2011, 01:18:02 AM »
This server has now been permanently shut down (effectively replaced by b.64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk).

Previous savegames can be found here, listed by the date when the server was shut down:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/server/sim64/archive/
« Last Edit: November 29, 2012, 12:55:44 AM by Timothy »

Offline rfg123

  • *
  • Posts: 101
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 01:37:26 AM »
I joined this server and set up some routes to test it out.. Works great (no desyncs yet!).


Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4603
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 02:39:37 PM »
why was the map resetted?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 05:35:56 PM »
Wrong command to start it after a crash, I have some scripts to take care of this so shouldn't happen again.

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4603
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2011, 08:38:39 PM »
any logs of this crash?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2011, 08:48:56 PM »
This log should cover the period where this crash occurred. No timestamping in the logs so hard to tell. I'll look into adding something to my logging solution which can insert timestamps and automatically log the times of crashes/restarts of the server.

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/sim64.log.2.gz
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 07:24:37 PM by Timothy »

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4603
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2011, 09:22:35 PM »
du you have a savegame of that game? it would be much more convenient to have logs with '-debug 3'.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2011, 11:28:26 PM »
Unfortunately the "in-progress" savegame would've been overwritten when I accidentally started the server with the original save specified. The current/original saves are here though:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/server-network.sve
http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/network_64.sve

Debug 3 produces a lot of logging output to keep - I will try it and see how big the log file grows though.


Edit:

I'm going to be updating the server to revision 4184 later today, I will make a backup of the current savegame state available for people as has become the convention.


Edit #2:

FYI I will be upgrading the server this evening and starting a fresh map. I'll post a link to the savegame for the old map in case anyone wants to keep it.


Edit:

I will be restarting the map with a new game version this weekend, old save will be posted here as usual.


Edit:

Map has been restarted, see first post for details.


Edit:

Server restarted with new stable version.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 07:24:25 PM by Timothy »

Offline electroduck

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Nearly Useless Dofus Player
    • My Site
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2011, 09:04:42 PM »
this server is offline now... when will it be on?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2011, 09:07:45 PM »
Hi, the server is running well it just seems to have vanished from the server listing. If you type the name (64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk) into the box manually it should connect.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9568
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2011, 09:20:16 PM »
Set to announce monthly (see simuconf.tab) should avoid vanishing from the list.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2011, 09:25:03 PM »
Duly noted, I've changed the config :)

Offline electroduck

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Nearly Useless Dofus Player
    • My Site
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2011, 09:35:30 PM »
i have tried entering 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk in to the server name spot in the dialog and tried entering net:64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk in the load dialog... botth fail. is this my fault?
Fail Message:
Code: [Select]
Server did not respond!
    ^
   /! \
  ______
« Last Edit: February 27, 2011, 09:40:58 PM by electroduck »

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2011, 11:42:44 PM »
Can you ping the server? (Try entering the command ping 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk into a command prompt window)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2011, 11:56:41 PM »
I get:

Code: [Select]
Pinging 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk [82.113.152.84] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=260ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 82.113.152.84:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 22ms, Maximum = 260ms, Average = 101ms

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2011, 12:00:28 AM »
Well I know the server is up, I wanted to check if electroduck could reach it :)

I have just logged into the server myself (really nicely developed map there! I may need to restart the map soon as there's little left to do) so it's definitely running.

I get:

Code: [Select]
Pinging 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk [82.113.152.84] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=260ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.113.152.84: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 82.113.152.84:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 22ms, Maximum = 260ms, Average = 101ms

Offline electroduck

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Nearly Useless Dofus Player
    • My Site
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2011, 02:14:41 AM »
yes pinging it works...
Code: [Select]
Last login: Sun Feb 27 17:31:43 on console
white-box:~ verdigris$ ping 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
PING 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk (82.113.152.84): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=0 ttl=47 time=175.350 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=1 ttl=47 time=177.482 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=2 ttl=47 time=176.773 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=3 ttl=47 time=186.789 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=4 ttl=47 time=176.180 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=5 ttl=47 time=176.841 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=6 ttl=47 time=177.501 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=7 ttl=47 time=176.236 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=8 ttl=47 time=177.775 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=9 ttl=47 time=174.526 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=10 ttl=47 time=176.969 ms
64 bytes from 82.113.152.84: icmp_seq=11 ttl=47 time=179.021 ms
^C
--- 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk ping statistics ---
12 packets transmitted, 12 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 174.526/177.620/186.789/2.980 ms
white-box:~ verdigris$
yet simu still gives an error...
do i need to specify a port?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 02:19:40 AM by electroduck »

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2011, 09:04:59 AM »
For this one you shouldn't need to as it uses the default port. Can you run simutrans with verbose logging (the command line parameter -debug 3) and then try to join the game and after that post the log file?


Edit: Looks like the server crashed about 4am last night.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 09:09:04 AM by Timothy »

Offline electroduck

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Nearly Useless Dofus Player
    • My Site
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #18 on: March 02, 2011, 01:01:47 AM »
no, as I use the mac application of the NB

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #19 on: March 02, 2011, 08:43:24 AM »
What version number does it show when you start the game?


Edit:

Map restarted (same map for now)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 12:36:18 AM by Timothy »

Offline electroduck

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Nearly Useless Dofus Player
    • My Site
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2011, 09:16:52 PM »
hey it works!
however I was disappointed to see some problems:
(i am player 7, not spectator)
first it would not let me build roads or tracks. then it got real choppy, gave me the Rainbow Wheel of Doom, and then... completely disconnected!
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 09:29:50 PM by electroduck »

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2011, 11:44:24 PM »
Last time I tried using the Mac version I got similar issues, I tend to play the Windows one in VMWare. Needs some more debugging I think.

janika600(hun)

  • Guest
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2011, 06:36:07 PM »
i started to play here today (TransSpeed TeFu), and i have 155k cr.
good net game

janika600(hun)

  • Guest
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #23 on: March 13, 2011, 11:12:28 AM »
Server did not respond for me.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #24 on: March 13, 2011, 11:28:04 PM »
Server had crashed, it's restarted now. Sorry about that.

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4603
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #25 on: March 18, 2011, 08:59:12 AM »
Any chance of getting a clue why the server crashed?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #26 on: March 18, 2011, 09:10:23 AM »
I've restarted the map, since the server was crashing every few hours with that old map.

Dwachs, log file is linked below which should cover the crashing period. Also you can download the save game from here:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/networksavegames/sim64/sim64_r4303_18th_March_2011.sve

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/sim64.log

(I can't see much in the log to indicate why it was crashing myself...)


Edit: Updated game version and a brand new (bigger) map.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 01:58:50 PM by Timothy »

Offline electroduck

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Nearly Useless Dofus Player
    • My Site
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #27 on: March 29, 2011, 12:16:50 AM »
so does that mean that you are using 110.0.1now?
because the server does note respond.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #28 on: March 29, 2011, 07:46:02 AM »
Yes, it's running 110.0.1


Edit: New map, same pakset/game version.


Edit: Restarted game, same map/version.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2011, 08:48:53 PM by Timothy »

smile

  • Guest
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #29 on: July 12, 2011, 06:17:38 PM »
WTF is with server it saves after 5 min or less since last save?

Offline moblet

  • *
  • Posts: 250
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #30 on: July 13, 2011, 05:30:00 AM »
Not got any response from the server for the past few hours, but you probably already knew that Timothy...

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2011, 08:36:04 AM »
I have restarted it, looks like it crashed while I was asleep.

Offline moblet

  • *
  • Posts: 250
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #32 on: July 14, 2011, 12:25:11 AM »
Was up 10-12 hours ago but is now down again. It must be waiting until you go to sleep  ;)

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #33 on: October 12, 2011, 11:20:20 PM »
Map restarted with the same map.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9568
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: 64.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #34 on: October 13, 2011, 09:23:58 PM »
You should compile with server savegame 110.7, otherwise all stuff will be lost during joining of a client like the railgates. I submitted a such commit.