The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk  (Read 10017 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« on: January 16, 2011, 11:58:32 AM »
Currently running Simutrans stable 111.0 (r4911) with pak128.Britain-1.09.

Find Simutrans & pakset here: http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=8360.0

Connect to: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk:13355

This server is accessible using both IPv4 and IPv6.

Screenshot of the map:




Previous savegames can be found here, listed by the date when the server was shut down:

http://entropy.me.uk/simutrans/networksavegames/simbrit/
« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 12:04:25 AM by Timothy »

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4597
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk:13355
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 08:42:31 AM »
Quote
Edit: Revision 4184 seems to be fairly unreliable

In what respect? Compared to which earlier revision?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk:13355
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 08:59:32 AM »
More desyncs, especially as more players join. This is mostly compared to r4114 which I had there before.

I've found that tweaking the server_frames_ahead value up a bit to 8, and setting additional_client_frames_behind to 4 on the clients I am testing with helps stability a little.

My friend was finding things like changing line names (when he pressed the enter key) caused desyncs almost 100% of the time, but that didn't happen at all for me with the same game settings. Next time I play I will be sure to put logging to full debug and post the logs.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9519
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk:13355
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 09:27:01 AM »
The problem is, that you have to increase the server savegame version in simversion.h to
#define SERVER_SAVEGAME_VER_NR  "0.110.0"
Otherwise the increase frame ahead times will be not used and the client will run at 4 or any other time in their simuconf.tab specified. I will do this for todays (Mon) nightly.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2011, 11:18:44 AM »
FYI I will be upgrading the server this evening and starting a fresh map. I'll post a link to the savegame for the old map in case anyone wants to keep it.


Edit:

The server has now been upgraded, previous savegame can be downloaded here for a while if you wish to continue playing:

<See first post for previous savegames>
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 07:23:31 PM by Timothy »

Offline rapheous

  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 11:02:34 PM »
Looks like the server just crashed as it is no longer responding.

edit: nevermind, tried it again and it is working :) but on a new map :(

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2011, 11:09:38 PM »
Ah sorry, that map was pretty much done I think :) Here's the savegame in case you want to keep playing. The new map has timeline turned on from 1960 to give an extra dimension for this time around.

<See first post for previous savegames>


Edit:

I will be restarting the map with a new game version this weekend, old save will be posted here as usual.

Edit:

Map has been restarted, see first post for details.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 07:23:47 PM by Timothy »

Offline rapheous

  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2011, 10:04:26 AM »
I think the game crashed last night whilst I was playing. Doesn't look like it has managed to recover itself.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2011, 08:50:28 PM »
I've just restarted it, I need to add some better monitoring to tell if it's working or not since it had got itself into a state where it was still running but not doing anything...

Offline rapheous

  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2011, 10:32:49 PM »
Thanks :) Getting a lot of reloads now, with pretty lengthy pauses each time.

edit: yes was 3 clients connected when I joined - the refreshes were generally followed with an update on how many clients connected.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2011, 10:36:32 PM »
Reloads like when someone leaves/joins?


Edit: Server has been updated to release 110.0 - see first post for details & for previous savegames.

Offline rapheous

  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2011, 07:53:40 AM »
Server appears not to be responding.

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2011, 04:46:39 PM »
Looks like kernel logs on the server got filled up by millions of the same message... I have put a syslog filter in place and I'll restart the Simutrans processes. I think it's the backup client that my VPS provider installs.

Edit:

For the moment it should be back and stable, please let me know if not.


Edit: Upgraded to 110.0.1 (r4359) and a new (bigger) map.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 02:10:35 PM by Timothy »

Offline sgtsammac

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • simutrans flickr group
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2011, 04:22:02 PM »
I'm on now, but no one else is on the save, come on guys Wanna play?

spechter

  • Guest
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2011, 02:05:36 PM »
is there a free slot?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2011, 04:35:50 PM »
Lots of free spaces on this server at the moment :)

Offline V813

  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Hi from Hong Kong :)
  • Languages: EN, ZH
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2011, 11:03:57 AM »
What are the public stops at the north for?

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2011, 10:33:28 PM »
Map restarted - not been a lot of people playing on this one compared to the 128 and 64 maps.


Edit: Map has been restarted with a more up-to-date version of pak.Britain. I've reduced the map size since fewer people are playing.


Edit: Map restarted (same map as before).


Edit: Map restarted, new map and new Simutrans (nightly) version.


Edit: Server restarted, same map but new stable Simutrans/pak versions.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2011, 12:35:23 AM by Timothy »

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2011, 06:12:22 PM »
Have just logged on, first time with this newfangled online play! So, er, are there any particular play criteria, targets etc? I see lots of oil tankers moving about...

Edit: Well, I built a short railway line, we'll see how that turns out!
« Last Edit: November 13, 2011, 08:47:03 PM by AP »

Offline Ashley

  • Coder/Patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1288
    • entropy.me.uk
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2011, 12:30:42 AM »
Yeah just jump in and do your own thing :) If you're looking for a more structured game try the Moblet games, since they are based around cooperative play with goals and so on.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2011, 08:28:54 AM »
Cool. I see a few players went bankrupt... came a bit close myself yesterday evening but made it through ok in the end.

Having a bit of trouble with a level crossing - there's a player-owned road east of Scarborough, electrified (for trolleybuses I assume). It won't let me make a level crossing over it. Any chance a couple of tiles of road could be made public?  Because I've used the narrow gauge rail network, I can't build rail bridges, so I need that level crossing (or a road bridge...). :) Thanks
Edit- ignore above comment, seems to have been all made public now. :)

« Last Edit: November 14, 2011, 10:15:10 PM by AP »

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #21 on: November 15, 2011, 12:07:49 AM »
Passenger rail up and running, seems financially stable. This new narrow gauge is very good for getting an early profit, lower maintenance than standard gauge (slower too). Regauging is a pain though! Map needs some industries though...

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #22 on: November 15, 2011, 10:20:48 PM »
Okay, so I have some feedback, possibly it's stuff more general to online play than specific to this game, I don't know. But nonetheless.... Basically, I think the game plays too fast. I mean, whilst I was at work today, it was presumably running on its own, since I now have £20,000,000 in the bank and several cities are growing out of control. It's like a few game-decades have passed or something. I'd love to set up more urban rail, but without playing full time it's never going to be possible to keep up, whilst simaltaneously upgrading infrastructure etc to take account of the ever-increasing traffic.

The map has no industry, hence I used passengers, presumably it's less of a problem for freight players. But I wonder if the game needs to play much slower on a server than in 'real life'?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9519
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: brit.simutrans.entropy.me.uk
« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2011, 10:45:49 PM »
The new version has the autopause feature, which will pause the srever if no one is connected. The paasing of time as well as city growth could be altered only on server side when creating new games.